Dakota |
Fri Jun 04, 2004 12:47pm |
Quote:
Originally posted by TwoBits
Is there anytime when the fielder may use the orange part of the bag?
Example: Dropped third strike goes toward backstop on first base side. Batter-runner is not using the 3' runners lane and is running inside the diamond toward the white portion of the bag.
Provide a rules reference whatever the answer is.
|
Yes, the defense may use the orange base in the situation you describe, but the NFHS rule book is very weak on how to use the double base. Basically, it says that the double base is permitted and that the BR may use the white base in a situation like you describe. (NFHS Rules 1-2-1 NOTE and 8-3-12 and 13)
Since the rule book is weak in the use of the double base, it is proper to use the ASA rules to flesh out what NFHS apparently did intend the rule to be.
Do you need the ASA rule reference?
|