The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Batter hit by batted ball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/13974-batter-hit-batted-ball.html)

mcpdk9 Fri Jun 04, 2004 09:59am

Can anyone tell me the appropriate call for a batter who hits a ball, the ball then hits her ankle and rolls fair. Is the batter out by a touched fair ball or is the ball considered live and in play?

Dakota Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by mcpdk9
Can anyone tell me the appropriate call for a batter who hits a ball, the ball then hits her ankle and rolls fair. Is the batter out by a touched fair ball or is the ball considered live and in play?
Was the batter still in the box when hit?

Speaking ASA.

Yes: FOUL BALL

No: DEAD BALL, BATTER OUT.

mcpdk9 Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:31am

Batter was still in the box. I thought the call should be foul and a strike called. The umpire called her out when the catcher threw to first.

Dakota Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:49am

Quote:

Originally posted by mcpdk9
Batter was still in the box. I thought the call should be foul and a strike called. The umpire called her out when the catcher threw to first.
Maybe the umpire did not see the ball hit the batter. Perhaps he thought it bounced off the plate.

Skahtboi Fri Jun 04, 2004 03:50pm

Or...if it just nicked the batter it is possible that he was blocked from seeing it hit her.

kellerumps Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:09pm

If the batter was in the box, then I've got a foul ball. If the batter was out of the box then I've got an out.

kellerumps Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:11pm

Dakota quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by mcpdk9
Can anyone tell me the appropriate call for a batter who hits a ball, the ball then hits her ankle and rolls fair. Is the batter out by a touched fair ball or is the ball considered live and in play?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Was the batter still in the box when hit?

Speaking ASA.

Yes: FOUL BALL

No: DEAD BALL, BATTER OUT.

Huh????? Can't imagine any time where the batter would be out in this play if they are in the box. Please explain where they are out.

Dakota Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by kellerumps
Dakota quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by mcpdk9
Can anyone tell me the appropriate call for a batter who hits a ball, the ball then hits her ankle and rolls fair. Is the batter out by a touched fair ball or is the ball considered live and in play?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Was the batter still in the box when hit?

Speaking ASA.

Yes: FOUL BALL

No: DEAD BALL, BATTER OUT.

Huh????? Can't imagine any time where the batter would be out in this play if they are in the box. Please explain where they are out.

As I said or, meant to say...

Was the batter still in the box when hit? Yes: FOUL BALL

Was the batter still in the box when hit? No: DEAD BALL, BATTER OUT.


[Edited by Dakota on Jun 5th, 2004 at 01:10 AM]

kellerumps Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:59pm

My mistake....I misread your meaning. I thought you ment if going by ASA rules then we have a foul ball....If not going by ASA then we have an out.


Dakota Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by kellerumps
My mistake....I misread your meaning. I thought you ment if going by ASA rules then we have a foul ball....If not going by ASA then we have an out.


Sorry... Now I see why you were confused. My poor writing.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1