The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 27, 2004, 09:51pm
LT LT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 29
Saw it....good call. Took "courage" to make that call, but it was the right one. Replay did confirm that 3rd base was blocking the bag...well up the line without the ball.

NCAA rule: Rule 9 Section 17 - Obstruction...see note #1 "The defensive player must be in the process of catching the ball and not merely positioning, waiting for a throw to arrive."

Rule 9 Section 18 c. Fielder or Catcher Obstruction.
#1 "A fielder who is not in possession of the ball, not in the act of fielding a batted ball or not about to receive a thrown ball, shall not impede the batter, batter-runner or runner.

I think the umpire was pumping the Obstruction call to "sell" the call.

I've worked several summer high level tourneys with this umpire and he knows the game.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1