The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Piching (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/13631-piching.html)

db Wed May 12, 2004 06:55am

I need reenforcement.
Picher steps on rubber. Puts hands together. Takes hands apart and starts her motion. During the motion she touchs her hands together again before the delivery.
Illegal. I'm having a problem with a coach who thinks that touching ball to glove is not bring the hands together.
Please give me some comments to use on this!

JEL Wed May 12, 2004 07:44am

I'm having a problem with a coach who thinks that touching ball to glove is not bring the hands together.
Please give me some comments to use on this! [/B][/QUOTE]


You are wrong coach, I will call it if I see it.

Dakota Wed May 12, 2004 08:18am

Quote:

Originally posted by db
I'm having a problem with a coach who thinks that touching ball to glove is not bring the hands together.
Speaking ASA.

Actually, the rule (6-3-B) says it is illegal to "return the ball to both hands." Touching the ball to the glove is certainly that.

"Illegal, coach, and a judgment call, coach. Are you aware it is against the rules to argue a judgment call?"

greymule Wed May 12, 2004 08:39am

Somewhere the book or a POE or a case play specifies that touching the hand or ball to the glove suffices for the purposes of 6-1-E (the pitcher shall hold the ball in both hands . . .).

We can infer that touching ball to glove would constitute a second bringing of the hands together.

Ref Ump Welsch Wed May 12, 2004 09:18am

"Illegal pitch, coach, rule 6. Look it up!" (A hint from my district UIC)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1