The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Missed plate on a time play (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/13331-missed-plate-time-play.html)

Morningrise Thu Apr 22, 2004 09:04am

Long time lurker here.

R1 on 3rd base, R2 on 1st base, one out, bottom 7th inning, score tied. Batter hits a fly ball. R1 stays on third, but R2 takes off for second. The ball is caught by F9, who fires to first. R1 heads for home and crosses the plate just before F3 catches the throw and touches first base to retire R2. However, R1 missed touching the plate.

My question is: How do you announce the result of the time play without revealing to either team that R1 missed the plate? Is it acceptable to say "the run scores" or "the game's over" when a potential appeal exists that could cancel the run and continue the game? If not, what do you say if the defense's coach asks "so is the game over?"

kono Thu Apr 22, 2004 09:15am

Assuming that you are trapped and can't get away with ignoring the coach, I would probably go with something like this: "It's a timing play coach - the runner crossed (passed??) the plate before the out was recorded." See if he can figure out that you didn't say that the runner 'touched' the plate.

-Kono

Robmoz Thu Apr 22, 2004 09:32am

Still learning and eager to absorb......


IF the play to F3 is for the "force out" on a caught fly ball then would this be a timing play at all? It might be argued that the force negates the run by definition.

(Just received my rule book and am in progress of cover to cover review but would appreciated your cliff note version here on this issue)


IRISHMAFIA Thu Apr 22, 2004 09:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by Morningrise
Long time lurker here.

R1 on 3rd base, R2 on 1st base, one out, bottom 7th inning, score tied. Batter hits a fly ball. R1 stays on third, but R2 takes off for second. The ball is caught by F9, who fires to first. R1 heads for home and crosses the plate just before F3 catches the throw and touches first base to retire R2. However, R1 missed touching the plate.

My question is: How do you announce the result of the time play without revealing to either team that R1 missed the plate? Is it acceptable to say "the run scores" or "the game's over" when a potential appeal exists that could cancel the run and continue the game? If not, what do you say if the defense's coach asks "so is the game over?"

Speaking ASA

"OUT! Run scores!"

The fact that R1 missed the plate is irrelevant to the play UNTIL the defense makes a legal appeal. The umpire should walk to an meet their partner on the field and head toward the exit. They should wait near the point of egress until the infielders have left fair territory or it is obvious that no appeal is forthcoming.

Softball myth: Once the umpire announces "ball game" or "game over", everything is done and nothing else can occur whether the rules allow it or not.

BTW, the answer to the coach is "Yes, sir/ma'am!" It is their responsibility to present appeals in the time fashion prescribed in the rule book.


Dakota Thu Apr 22, 2004 10:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by Robmoz
Still learning and eager to absorb......


IF the play to F3 is for the "force out" on a caught fly ball then would this be a timing play at all? It might be argued that the force negates the run by definition.

(Just received my rule book and am in progress of cover to cover review but would appreciated your cliff note version here on this issue)


Welcome, Robmoz... I'm still learning, too!

Anyway, this is not a force play - it is a live ball appeal, and it is a timing play.

CecilOne Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by Robmoz
Still learning and eager to absorb......


IF the play to F3 is for the "force out" on a caught fly ball then would this be a timing play at all? It might be argued that the force negates the run by definition.

(Just received my rule book and am in progress of cover to cover review but would appreciated your cliff note version here on this issue)


An out is only a force if it involves a base the runner has not reached, but is required to advance (force). For purposes of disallowing a run, the out must be a force or the BR being out before reaching 1st. Tagups and other such plays are actually live ball appeals, so are timing plays, not force plays unless they are a missed base by a forced runner.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1