The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA vs NSA (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/13200-asa-vs-nsa.html)

greymule Wed Apr 14, 2004 06:49am

Doing some NSA FP as well as ASA this year. Interesting differences in rules. Besides allowing 2 EPs and a DH, NSA is different in some other key ways:

1. Batting out of order is treated exactly as in OBR.
2. If the BR touches 1B with the bat still in his possession, he is out. (Remember the discussion about how in ASA the BR can carry the bat around the bases as long as he does not interfere?)
3. If there's a play at 1B and the BR touches the white part, she is out whether she beat the throw or not.
4. If obstruction occurs during a "run down," the runner is always awarded the advance base. (They don't define "run down," but I guess they figure we know one when we see one.)
5. If a runner is hit by a batted ball while in contact with a base, the ball is dead regardless of the position of any fielders. (BR gets 1B, other runners advance only if forced.)
6. For a foul tip, they supply a 170-word definition that still doesn't nail everything.
7. Crash rule specifies "deliberately, and with great force."

I'm sure there are more.

chuck chopper Wed Apr 14, 2004 11:34am

#5 is also the ASA version, there is no difference.
#3 I feel if runner use white portion incorrectly, we (ASA)should have the right to call an out immediately while ball stays alive. This enforcement by appeal only doesn't cut it with me.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 14, 2004 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by chuck chopper
#5 is also the ASA version, there is no difference.

This is incorrect. It is a dead ball ONLY if the ball has passed the closest defender.

Quote:

#3 I feel if runner use white portion incorrectly, we (ASA)should have the right to call an out immediately while ball stays alive. This enforcement by appeal only doesn't cut it with me.
Then you would continue to be wrong. Really don't care whether it "cuts" it with you or not. To maintain ASA's standard that any runner is considered to have touched a base once they have passed it, this situation must be an appeal play.


Dakota Wed Apr 14, 2004 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by chuck chopper
#3 I feel if runner use white portion incorrectly, we (ASA)should have the right to call an out immediately while ball stays alive. This enforcement by appeal only doesn't cut it with me.
Then you would have the curious situation where if the runner touches the white base when she is required to use the orange, she would be out, but if she steps over it, she would only be out if the defense appeals.

How does NSA treat a missed base? Is it an appeal play?

If it is an appeal play, how do they deal with the situation above?

[Edited by Dakota on Apr 14th, 2004 at 03:03 PM]

Skahtboi Wed Apr 14, 2004 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
This is incorrect. It is a dead ball ONLY if the ball has passed the closest defender.

Umm....didn't you mean "it is a dead ball ONLY if the ball has not passed the closest defender?

(POE 43)

CecilOne Wed Apr 14, 2004 08:04pm

The title of ths topic sounds like a helluva tournament. :D

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 14, 2004 09:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Skahtboi
Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
This is incorrect. It is a dead ball ONLY if the ball has passed the closest defender.

Umm....didn't you mean "it is a dead ball ONLY if the ball has not passed the closest defender?

(POE 43)

Scott,

Thanks, you are correct. I was typed this in the middle of a seminar was attending. Meant to type "hasn't"

In ASA, the ball is live and in play if it has passed the defender and dead if the runner in contact with the base was hit prior to a fielder having the opportunity to make a play. When dead, the BR is awarded 1B and those forced to do so, move up.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1