The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Obstruction..or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/13139-obstruction-not.html)

Andy Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:30am

Here is a play from a HS game last night:

Batter hits ground ball to F6, F6 fields and throws to F3. The throw is off line and pulls F3 to the home plate side of 1B. F3 is a big girl, BR is not so big. BR slows when she sees F3 in between her and 1B, but the ball is caught by F3 about the same time for the out. I call the out. 1B coach asks about F3 being between the BR and 1B, I tell her that the throw pulled F3 there and she was "about to receive" the ball when she was between the base and the BR.

I know that obstruction is almost always a HTBT, but I wanted some comments and opinions on this play.

Also, would this be potentially called differently under ASA rules?

Dakota Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:37am

Again, restating HTBT, I'll take a shot at a couple of commnets...
Quote:

Originally posted by Andy
Here is a play from a HS game last night:

Batter hits ground ball to F6, F6 fields and throws to F3. The throw is off line and pulls F3 to the home plate side of 1B. F3 is a big girl, BR is not so big. BR slows when she sees F3 in between her and 1B,

This is when "impeding the progress" happened, so at this point, did the "about to receive" apply? If so, no obs. If not, then it is obs.
Quote:

Originally posted by Andy
...but the ball is caught by F3 about the same time for the out. I call the out. 1B coach asks about F3 being between the BR and 1B, I tell her that the throw pulled F3 there and she was "about to receive" the ball when she was between the base and the BR.
If the F3 was "about to receive" on or before the BR slowed, good call.
Quote:

Originally posted by Andy
Also, would this be potentially called differently under ASA rules?
Yes. Obs in ASA unless the ball was caught before the BR slowed down.

wadeintothem Thu Apr 08, 2004 11:48am

.
 
Dakota, I think I disagree with your ASA statement.. but I could be wrong.

"Act of fielding the ball" is part of 8 5 b .. and I take it to mean this situation.

Also, realistically, a runner has no "duty to slow" .. this could be an attempt at drawing OBS? Was BR impeded because they HAD to slow, or just DID slow?

Double base would have solved this whole issue.. as a side comment.

mick Thu Apr 08, 2004 11:52am

Maybe yes, maybe no. Didn't see it.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by wadeintothem

Double base would have solved this whole issue.. as a side comment.

Not necessarily, but maybe it could have. ;)

Dakota Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:40pm

Re: .
 
Quote:

Originally posted by wadeintothem
"Act of fielding the ball" is part of 8 5 b .. and I take it to mean this situation.
Read it more closely, Wade... you overlooked a key word.

Quote:

Originally posted by wadeintothem
Also, realistically, a runner has no "duty to slow" .. this could be an attempt at drawing OBS? Was BR impeded because they HAD to slow, or just DID slow?
This is a good point, especially with experienced players. I have seen players try to "draw" an obstruction call. This kind of nuance is why discussing obs and int is so much fun on these boards... many times the subtle nuances are just as important as the obvious facts in making the call.

Quote:

Originally posted by wadeintothem
Double base would have solved this whole issue.. as a side comment.
As mick says ... maybe; maybe not.

wadeintothem Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:47pm

.
 
I'll admit, getting a solid firm handle on the new ASA ob is still a work in progress for me..

I'll post it the definition here (from 1) and we can discuss where I have it wrong.

Paraphrase: OB is the act of hindering the runner by DEF...
(Contact not necessary)
Exact: (by)

B. A fielder, who is not:
1. In possession of the ball.
2. In the act of fielding the ball.

I take 2 to address the fielder pulled into the line of the runner by a throw..

That could be where I have it wrong.


Dakota Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:56pm

Re: .
 
In blue-bold is the word where your memory failed you ;) ...

Quote:

Originally posted by wadeintothem
2. In the act of fielding the <font color=blue> batted </font>ball.

wadeintothem Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:58pm

.
 
BIG BRIGHT LIGHT GOES ON..

Thanks.. honestly.. thats a lesson learned for the day. I missed that...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1