The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   DP reentry interp. in NFHS (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/13001-dp-reentry-interp-nfhs.html)

CecilOne Wed Mar 31, 2004 12:55pm

I copied this from the NFHS Interp. web page, but does it need clarifification that they are assuming Jones does not reenter after the third inning at bat (my bolding).

SITUATION 11: Team A is using 10 players in its lineup, with DP-Jones batting third. FLEX-Smith is playing right field and is a very fast runner. In the first, third and sixth innings, DP-Jones gets on base and, in each case, the FLEX-Smith is put in to run. Is this legal?

RULING: It is legal for the FLEX to do this since she never left the game. However, it would be illegal for the starting DP-Jones to return to bat in the sixth inning. This is a violation of the re-entry rule. (3-3-5; 3-3-6g)

Andy Wed Mar 31, 2004 01:54pm

I don't see where any clarification is needed. The situation states:

Quote:

In the first, third and sixth innings, DP-Jones gets on base
After the third inning at-bat, Jones is done for the game. Starting is her first entry, she left the game after the first inning at-bat, re-entered and batted in the third, and left the game again when the FLEX, Smith came in to run. Jones is not eligible to bat in the sixth inning.

The scenario asks at the end: "is this legal?"
Well, part of the scenario is legal (FLEX running for the DP) and part of it is not legal (DP entering the game three times). It could be more clear in that respect.

CecilOne Wed Mar 31, 2004 07:38pm

I'm not questioning the rule or the ruling in the interpretation. Just that it does not clearly state what Andy did, the DP-Jones can not reenter after the third inning use of FLEX as a runner. It just deals with the sixth inning bat and leaves a gap between the two. Remember, most people reading the interps. are less knowledgeable than you (and hopefully most of us).

IRISHMAFIA Thu Apr 01, 2004 11:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by CecilOne
I'm not questioning the rule or the ruling in the interpretation. Just that it does not clearly state what Andy did, the DP-Jones can not reenter after the third inning use of FLEX as a runner. It just deals with the sixth inning bat and leaves a gap between the two. Remember, most people reading the interps. are less knowledgeable than you (and hopefully most of us).
I don't understand where you see a "gap". The ruling addressed what is and is not permitted for each individual included in the scenario.

The ruling answered the question asked.


SamNVa Thu Apr 01, 2004 12:59pm

Not that any of us would allow this to happen, but just in case we're asked while UICing a tournament or some such; what if things happened just as noted in the interp and DP Jones did bat in the sixth inning, got a single and was replaced by FLEX Smith. After the substitution, but prior to a pitch to the next batter, the defense realizes that Jones should not have batted in the sixth and points it out to you, the PU What do you rule?

Along the same lines, you see DP-jones approaching the batter's box in the sixth inning do you <ul><li>a. wait for her to get into the box, then call her out, or <li>b. stop her before she gets into the box and tell the coach that she has already used up her one re-entry and he needs to get someone else to take her place</ul>
SamC



[Edited by SamNVa on Apr 1st, 2004 at 12:14 PM]

Hugo Tafurst2 Thu Apr 01, 2004 04:34pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by SamNVa
Not that any of us would allow this to happen, but just in case we're asked while UICing a tournament or some such; what if things happened just as noted in the interp and DP Jones did bat in the sixth inning, got a single and was replaced by FLEX Smith. After the substitution, but prior to a pitch to the next batter, the defense realizes that Jones should not have batted in the sixth and points it out to you, the PU What do you rule?

NFHS:
If it did happen, it is an illegal substitution (3-3-5)
(DP)Jones is out and restricted to the dugout. (I know, you'd rather eject the manager, but....), play is nullified (so Smith does not get to run).
3-4-1, 2 & PEN.

What I don't know for sure is what would happen if it wasn't discovered until after Smith re-entered.
In other words, we had an illegal sub who is no longer in the game anyway.....

Along the same lines, you see DP-jones approaching the batter's box in the sixth inning do you <ul><li>a. wait for her to get into the box, then call her out, or <li>b. stop her before she gets into the box and tell the coach that she has already used up her one re-entry and he needs to get someone else to take her place</ul>

I would warn the coach (unnanounced substitution 3-6-12).

Then I would mention to the coach that a player may only re-enter once.

I don't know if this is improper, since it may be considered "coaching" and would be taking an easy out away from the defense, but I think it's the right thing to do.
I wouldn't make a big deal out of it.. if the coach argues that it is not illegal, I'll accept the substitution....and then administer the penalty!

Don't know if that's the right way to do it, but it's all I can think of..

IRISHMAFIA Thu Apr 01, 2004 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SamNVa
Not that any of us would allow this to happen, but just in case we're asked while UICing a tournament or some such; what if things happened just as noted in the interp and DP Jones did bat in the sixth inning, got a single and was replaced by FLEX Smith. After the substitution, but prior to a pitch to the next batter, the defense realizes that Jones should not have batted in the sixth and points it out to you, the PU What do you rule?
Speaking ASA

Jones is out and disqualified and move any runners which may have advanced back to the base they occupied at the TOP.
Quote:


Along the same lines, you see DP-jones approaching the batter's box in the sixth inning do you <ul><li>a. wait for her to get into the box, then call her out, or <li>b. stop her before she gets into the box and tell the coach that she has already used up her one re-entry and he needs to get someone else to take her place</ul>
SamC
I'm walking over to the coach and asking if they have a change for me. If yes, then I'm going to ask if Jones hasn't already left the game twice. If they cannot get the hint from that, oh well. BTW, I will probably have this conversation with the line-up card in hand.


CecilOne Thu Apr 01, 2004 07:42pm

Agree.

Note, in HS, it's " restricted to the dugout", as said above, not DQ.

SamNVa Fri Apr 02, 2004 12:07pm

Okay guys (and gals who did not answer),

I agree that Jones was illegal while she was in the game, but she's sitting on the bench and Smith is now standing on 1st. The interp saays that it is legal for Smith to sub for Jones since Smith never left the game and an illegal sub must be discovered while in the game, so I would say that the offensive coach has just dodged a bullet by gettomg Smith out there in a timely fashion. Mainly I was wondering if any of you would allow he substition to override the illegal player since no pitch had been thrown or wouled you still call the out on Jones and remove Smith from the base.

SamC


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1