|  | 
| 
 A batted ball goes directly to the catcher's glove, then to the catcher's chest, and is finally secured with the glove and bare hand.  Foul Tip?  or Foul Ball? Right now I am thinking NFHS, but does it make any difference for any other Codes? WMB | 
| 
 Foul Tip Dont think it makes any difference so I will gave you ASA case book play 1-59 "touches the catcher's glove or hand and then rebounds from the catcher or equipment".  It is a foul tip and a strike Have a good one Don | 
| 
 I have a foul tip, live ball and a strike.  If third strike, an out. | 
| 
 Don't have my rule book at work, however I thought once a fouled ball touches the mask, or chest protector, then it is a foul ball & no longer a tip. | 
| 
 The key here is that the ball went directly to the catcher's mitt before hitting the catchers chest, therefore it is considered a foul tip and not a foul ball. I do not have my rule book here but it states something to the effect that a ball that goes directly to the catcher's mitt or hand is considered a foul tip. | 
| 
 Years ago when I was UIC in my area there was a protest on this very call--- there was a runner on base and the plate umpire incorrectly called foul ball and sent the runner who had stolen 2nd base back to first. Calling a high school game years later a coach questioned me why a runner was able to steal on a foul tip. it takes all kinds ! | 
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48am. |