The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   "Tag Up" rules question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/12883-tag-up-rules-question.html)

jhughe90 Thu Mar 25, 2004 04:47pm

ASA co-ed league. R1 is on 2nd base, tags up on a bobbled catch by F9 (who fell down) and advances to home. I couldn't believe F6 had the ignorance to say the PU was "making up rules". I know that you can advance on first contact, but I couldn't find the full rule text to cover questions about complex tag-up situations.

Is it contact by the FIRST fielder? F10 was apparently not a regular, F9 was playing 15' away to cover her area as well. I could see a ball being bobbled and caught by a fielder other than the one who made first contact.

Now apply similar situations in the infield. Line drive is deflected by F3 to F4. When can runners advance?

Thanks,
Jeff

IRISHMAFIA Thu Mar 25, 2004 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jhughe90
ASA co-ed league. R1 is on 2nd base, tags up on a bobbled catch by F9 (who fell down) and advances to home. I couldn't believe F6 had the ignorance to say the PU was "making up rules". I know that you can advance on first contact, but I couldn't find the full rule text to cover questions about complex tag-up situations.

Is it contact by the FIRST fielder? F10 was apparently not a regular, F9 was playing 15' away to cover her area as well. I could see a ball being bobbled and caught by a fielder other than the one who made first contact.

Now apply similar situations in the infield. Line drive is deflected by F3 to F4. When can runners advance?

Thanks,
Jeff

8.4.E covers it all.

CecilOne Fri Mar 26, 2004 02:20pm

first contact by the FIRST fielder

chuck chopper Fri Mar 26, 2004 04:33pm

Since the ball was eventually caught did the runners get back before being picked off. I hate having half the story


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1