![]() |
Men's ASA SP Rec League. R1 on 1B. A pitch to B2 either hits the ground before reaching home plate, or hits the plate, or hits the batter. The PU properly calls "Dead Ball, Ball". The catcher then proceeds to throw the return of the ball to the pitcher over the pitcher's head, into center field. Does the dead ball remain a dead ball once it's initially called, or does it now become a live ball, as in Rule 8, Sec. 4, Art. G-2, and R1 can then advance?
Thanks, |
A dead ball stays dead until umpire revives it!
A player can not do anything to make it live. |
Quote:
I believe JEL is right on that. |
Which also means that the runners cannot leave the base legally until Rule 8, Sec 4, Art G is met.
|
So then, do I have to say "Play Ball" in order for play to resume, or is it assumed that the ball is live once the pitcher gets the ball back and is in the vicinity of the rubber?
|
Quote:
|
Well, when you put it that way, the answer is simple! Of course I have to say "Play Ball!" after I've declared a dead ball in order for play to resume. I just managed to confuse myself. Thanks.
|
Quote:
Did you say, "Play Ball" after every pitch not hit? Of course, you didn't even though every situation was a dead ball event. |
The best way to handle it is to say "play" or something similar after EVERY time you kill it... that avoids any confusion....
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48pm. |