The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   DP/FLEX moves (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/12677-dp-flex-moves.html)

Dakota Fri Mar 12, 2004 04:18pm

Here is the entire scenario that led to my thread "Subs with DP/FELX." I've given away part of my thinking with that thread, but not all.

Your comments / rulings?

Abby, the FLEX, starts at F1
Becca, the DP, bats B4.
Charlene is a sub.
Debra is a sub.

Top of 2nd inning. Abby comes to bat at B4.
Bottom of 2nd inning. Charlene enters as F1. Abby on the bench.

3rd inning - no changes (B4 does not come to bat)

Top of 4th inning.
Debra comes to bat at B4.

Q1: Bottom of 4th inning. Charlene takes the field as F1. Debra takes the field as F7.

Legal? Why or why not?

Q2: Alternate Bottom of 4th inning. Abby takes the field as F1. Becca takes the field as F7.

Legal? Why or why not?

Hint: answer in the context of what the coach told you he was doing with each player entry (you get to make this up). Try to think of other things the coach could have said at that entry and whether or not that would affect the legality of his later moves.

Dukat Fri Mar 12, 2004 05:11pm

Ill take a stab and see if I am right: Both legal

Sit1: All you have is subs for both starters in positions 4 and 10

Sit 2: Starters had a reentry and this is it. If later in the game they brought Charlene and/or Debra back then Abby and/or Becca would be done.


TexBlue Fri Mar 12, 2004 05:13pm

Well, let's give this a try.

Top of 2nd inning a substitution took place, since Abby (Flex ) batted for Becca (DP).

Bottom of 2nd, Charlene subbed in for Abby and should be batting 4th.

Top of 4, Debra now subs in for Charlene and is batting 4th. Doesn't matter where, defensively, for this scenario.

Bottom of 4th, now we (read that as you ) have a problem. 2 subs for the same batting position are now in the game. At this point the DP/Flex doesn't figure into it, since the coach apparently didn't tell you they were reinstating the DP/Flex. What you could work out if you're in a congenial mood at the time, is reinstate the DP/Flex, let Charlene be the sub for Abby (Flex) and let Debra be the sub for Becca (DP). IF you are in a congenial mood.


Am I close to what you were thinking?

In sitution 2, this is legal, you just have both starters back in the game and one of the other defensive players in the dugout, but still batting.

[Edited by TexBlue on Mar 12th, 2004 at 04:17 PM]

SamNVa Fri Mar 12, 2004 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
Here is the entire scenario that led to my thread "Subs with DP/FELX." I've given away part of my thinking with that thread, but not all.

Your comments / rulings?

Ok, hers my rake on things:
Quote:


Abby, the FLEX, starts at F1
Becca, the DP, bats B4.
Charlene is a sub.
Debra is a sub.

Top of 2nd inning. Abby comes to bat at B4.

Abby replaces Becca at DP, Becca is out with 1 re-entry, team goes from 10 to 9.
Quote:


Bottom of 2nd inning. Charlene enters as F1. Abby on the bench.

Charlene replaces Abby, Abby is out with 1 re-entry, team is still playing with 9.

Quote:

3rd inning - no changes (B4 does not come to bat)

Top of 4th inning.
Debra comes to bat at B4.

Debra re-instantiates the DP position, Charlene goes to FLEX, team goes from 9 to 10.
Quote:


Q1: Bottom of 4th inning. Charlene takes the field as F1. Debra takes the field as F7.

Legal? Why or why not?

Yes this is legal, the DP and the FLEX can both play defense at the same time.
Quote:


Q2: Alternate Bottom of 4th inning. Abby takes the field as F1. Becca takes the field as F7.

Legal? Why or why not?

Yes, this is also legal as Abby went back to FLEX for Charlene and Becca went back to DP for Debra.
Quote:


Hint: answer in the context of what the coach told you he was doing with each player entry (you get to make this up). Try to think of other things the coach could have said at that entry and whether or not that would affect the legality of his later moves.

SamC

mick Fri Mar 12, 2004 08:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
Here is the entire scenario that led to my thread "Subs with DP/FELX." I've given away part of my thinking with that thread, but not all.

Your comments / rulings?

Abby, the FLEX, starts at F1
Becca, the DP, bats B4.
Charlene is a sub.
Debra is a sub.

Top of 2nd inning. Abby comes to bat at B4.
Becca out

Bottom of 2nd inning. Charlene enters as F1. Abby on the bench.
Becca still out, Abby goes out regardless of whether Charlene subs for Flex (10) or DP (4).

3rd inning - no changes (B4 does not come to bat)

Top of 4th inning.
Debra comes to bat at B4.

Charlene is out and is history if she subbed at DP (4).
Charlene remains in game if she subbed for FLEX (10).

Q1: Bottom of 4th inning. Charlene takes the field as F1. Debra takes the field as F7.

Legal? Why or why not?

Apparently Charlene had subbed for Flex (10) and remained in game. Debra (DP-4) can play anywhere.

Q2: Alternate Bottom of 4th inning. Abby takes the field as F1. Becca takes the field as F7.

Legal? Why or why not?

Abby legally reenters and Charlene is history.
Becca reenters at DP-4 and Debra is history.

[/B]
Thank goodness I brought line-up sheets!
;)
mick

TexBlue Fri Mar 12, 2004 09:06pm

<B> Top of 4th inning.
Debra comes to bat at B4.

Charlene is out and is history if she subbed at DP (4).
Charlene remains in game if she subbed for FLEX (10).
-----------------------------------------------------------

</B>

Uh, what happened. Why is Charlene not allowed to re-enter if the coach so desires? Am I reading this wrong? Charlene should have one more substitution in the game.

mick Fri Mar 12, 2004 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TexBlue
<B> Top of 4th inning.
Debra comes to bat at B4.

Charlene is out and is history if she subbed at DP (4).
Charlene remains in game if she subbed for FLEX (10).
-----------------------------------------------------------

</B>

Uh, what happened. Why is Charlene not allowed to re-enter if the coach so desires? Am I reading this wrong? Charlene should have one more substitution in the game.

Charlene is not a starter.
Thus, once she's gone, ... goodbye. :)

Dakota Fri Mar 12, 2004 11:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Charlene is not a starter.
Thus, once she's gone, ... goodbye. :)

They changed that rule. Was it last year? Year before? Anyway, both starters and subs have one reentry.

mick Fri Mar 12, 2004 11:51pm

Oh, my!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Charlene is not a starter.
Thus, once she's gone, ... goodbye. :)

They changed that rule. Was it last year? Year before? Anyway, both starters and subs have one reentry.

Dakota,
Thanks for the heads up.
That's obviously a place where NCAA and FED part company.
Is that an ASA rule also? :)
mick



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1