![]()  | 
	
| 
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			ASA 8-7-E. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			The runner is out . . . E. When anyone other than another runner physically assists the runner while the ball is in play. Effect – Section 7 A–E. The ball is in play and the runner is out. In . . . E, the runner passing or assisting is called out. [My bold.] Shouldn't it say "the runner passing or being assisted is called out"? A runner can assist another runner. And can a runner who's been put out assist a runner who has not been put out? 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			We got to discuss this very same thing with Merle Butler at a clinic this past weekend. (Buddah do you remember?) 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	7-A-E Should read being assisted. I seem to remember a thread, or maybe just a post about that sometime last summer. Now, when anyone other than another runner....that runner is out. Once a runner is put out, s/he is no longer a runner, thus the put-out (ex)runner becomes anyone other than another runner, and by assisting will cause runner to be out! Or simply to answer last question, no.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			That defensive player "hole" in the rule has existed for a long time. I think everyone simply ignores it.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |