The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Help me out here! (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/12651-help-me-out-here.html)

buddha69 Wed Mar 10, 2004 03:53pm

Ok I kind of need help here on this one.

B3 hits a fly ball to the outfield that he assumes will be caught, and walks to (but not into) the dugout. Whe the ball is not caught, B3 runs to 1B. The umpire should call B3 out for being out of the 3-foot line.

True or False.

I put TRUE, But I found out that is it is False. Can someone please explain to me why it is False.

Thanks,

Roger Greene Wed Mar 10, 2004 04:03pm

Because being out of the 3' running land did not interfer with the fielder taking the throw at first base.

Don't forget to read the complete rule, and the case plays/POE regarding a rule.

This answer should apply to all codes.

Roger Greene

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 10, 2004 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Roger Greene
Because being out of the 3' running land did not interfer with the fielder taking the throw at first base.

Don't forget to read the complete rule, and the case plays/POE regarding a rule.

This answer should apply to all codes.

Roger Greene

Roger is all over this one.

Buddha, one thing to remember is that unless there is a play being made on a runner, they are not required to run anywhere as long as they touch the bases in the proper order and do not commit and act of interference or USC.

Before someone jumps in here with a "What about the LBR?", I am refering to a live ball not in the pitcher's possession in the circle.


buddha69 Wed Mar 10, 2004 04:58pm

Okay, Now I got it.

Thanks Guys!!!!!!!!!



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1