![]() |
B1 steps out of the box without asking for time and F1 delivers pitch. Rule 7-3-2 states call it a strike. Even if the pitch is clearly a ball? What if the pitch hits batter?
|
Strike no matter where it is. However, I never thought about the pitch hitting the batter. Or what if the ball hits the bat? (With the batter out of the box, he would be out.) Maybe somebody knows the answer to those.
|
Quote:
|
Fed, Mike.
Actually the correct cite is 7-3-1 EFFECT 2. The pitch shall be called a strike. The ball is live. If a strike hits a batter, we have a dead ball strike. (Not specifically covered by 7-2-1 g but unless I'm convinced that F1 intentionally threw the pitch at the batter I'm going to extend this rule to the play at hand by 10-2-2. {Unless somebody has a cite or play that would overrule}.) If the batter touches the ball with the bat while out of the batter's box, then dead ball and out per 7-3-2. Roger Greene |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39pm. |