![]() |
Hi Folks,
At a pitching clinic this week ... there's a pitcher that definitely has two full arm revolutions. But, she actually releases the ball at the end of the first revolution. The second revolution is just follow-through. Does the "less than two revolutions" rule apply here? Or, is that rule only for someone that releases the ball after the second revolution? Regards. |
The rule you are referencing refers only to the delivery of the ball. However, there is a rule in NFHS, USSSA, and I believe ASA that states a pitcher cannot continue the windup after the release of the pitch. That sounds like what she was doing, and therefore, she is still pitching illegally.
|
Skahtboi is correct. To be a little more specific, ASA does not allow for another revolution of the arm after the pitch is released. NFHS does not allow for the arm to rotate past the shoulder after the release.
WMB |
WMB,
Thanks for the info you sent me. Did a one day NFSA tournament this weekend - we called 19 illegal pitches. Anything from replant to wetting fingers and not wiping. Had three ejections. I had one. The official score keeper. This guy was terrible. He complained about pitches, calls and in general just about everything. In the 3rd inning my partner got hit by a very poorly thrown ball. This guys yells out, get him harder next time and maybe he will pay attention. I talked to him and he just got worse, so sent him packing. Compared the visitors book with his, samo, so designated them official scorers. |
Go Baby
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43am. |