The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   substituting (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/11473-substituting.html)

chasbo Fri Jan 02, 2004 08:18pm

I will be doing my first games this spring and as I was reading over the NFHS 2003 case book I became quite confused as to 3.1.3 sitch A. To sum up it states that F8 is a starter and is batting 2nd. In the 2nd inning F8 is replaced. Subsequently the coach desires to re enter F8 as catcher and bat 8th. in the ruling it states this is not legal, that F8 may re enter and only bat 2nd. So the way I read this, both F8 and her substitute are batting 2nd. What am I missing here?

TexBlue Fri Jan 02, 2004 08:30pm

Re-entry
 
F-8 has to re-enter for her substitute, who is batting 2nd. F-8 can still play catcher, she just can't go into the lineup where the catcher was. All she is doing is re-entering the lineup where she started and exchanging positions on defense.

Rick

chasbo Fri Jan 02, 2004 08:53pm

OK, so F8 comes in for her original sub, F8 can now catch and continue to bat 2nd. F8's original sub is out of the game and the original catcher or another sub is in center. Right? Does F8's original sub have to leave the game or can she play another position?

Steve M Fri Jan 02, 2004 11:43pm

Chas,
Think of it this way. What's sacred about your lineup is the batting order. If you have F8 in the game, F8's sub must have left the game - the starter and sub may not be in the game at the same time. And once a player appears in a certain batting order slot, the player is locked into that particular slot for the remainder of the game. As for where they play defense - I don't care with the exception of any applicable restrictions on F1.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Jan 03, 2004 09:29am

Chasbo,

Can you e-mail me, [email protected]?

Thanks,

CecilOne Sat Jan 03, 2004 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by chasbo
OK, so F8 comes in for her original sub, F8 can now catch and continue to bat 2nd. F8's original sub is out of the game and the original catcher or another sub is in center. Right? Does F8's original sub have to leave the game or can she play another position?
After F8 re-enters, F8's original sub can re-enter once for F8, but cannot replace any other player.
I think it is less confusing to refer to the players by number or name instead of position, because when in the lineup, defensive positions can be switched at will. I.E., the second position in the batting order is occupied by #24 or a substitute regardless of playing center, catcher, etc.

Gmoore Sat Jan 03, 2004 12:14pm

How many here was around the flex player ,Illinois we didnt use it ?

But i think it will happen this year

Skahtboi Sat Jan 03, 2004 02:08pm

Gmoore:

The FLEX rule will happen this year. Fed adopted it for general use beginning with the 2004 season.

whiskers_ump Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Gmoore
How many here was around the flex player ,Illinois we didnt use it ?

But i think it will happen this year

Recommend that if you need help with the rule going
to the site listed below and go to <b>handouts</b>
copy and paste the two articles on <b>DP/DEFO</b>
posted by Steve M. and Tom {Dakota}. The <b>DP/FLEX</b>
rule is the same. These are excellent articles and
explain in detail what can and cannot be done.

http://www.eteamz.com/sites/GCBUmpire/



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1