![]() |
I had almost the exact same thing as DUKAT's post yesterday in the last game before the championship game.
I actually thought someone had beaten me to posting this situation on the board. But, it is a little different. The starting catcher was pulled from the catcher's position and placed in Center Field in the 3rd inning. In the 5th inning, the girl got a hit and reached 1st base safely. The coach told my partner that he was going to use a Courtesy Runner for his catcher. The PU allowed it and we continued. After the Courtesy Runner scored, the defensive coach protested the player, saying she was placed into the game as a Courtesy Runner for a player who was not a catcher or a pitcher. To drive the point home, he pointed to the on deck batter who had the catcher's shin guards on. This girl had been the catcher for the last 2 innings. My partner, a little red faced, came to me and explained the situation and wanted to know what to do now. What do you guys think? |
Tex,
You've got a run that scored and counts and a disqualified player - the illegal courtesy runner. Rule 4, Section 7 covers illegal players. You've also got a partner who needs some work on his lineup card management - that makes both of you look bad. Steve M |
Yeah, that's exactly what I told him. I believe the rest of the rule is to eject the coach isn't it? We didn't do that, I really don't think it was intentional. He claimed he was going to put her back in catching. Anyway, when he started getting pretty upset, I stated the rest of the rule for him and he settled down a little.
We did let all play by the illegal player stand and disqualified her for the game. Didn't quite carry out my full responsibilities by letting the coach stay in the game, but that's on me. Trust me, my partner will probably never forget to keep the lineup card up to snuff from now on. Rick |
Speaking ASA
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Mike, what about rule 10-1j where it talks about violation of the rules?
This is pretty much a scenario where that applies, isn't it? |
TexBlue,
I think 10-1-J is talking about players and/or coaches who <b>willfully and knowingly </b>(my terms) violates a rule. So if you thought that the coach was trying to pull a fast one, I suppose you could eject him, although I would probably give a warning first. OTOH, if you thought that he just didn't understand the CR rule, then the best thing to do would be to explain it to him, not eject him. SamC |
Toss the coach whenever possible! Make up a rule!
ROFLMAO (Just a little humor, y'all!) http://www.stopstart.freeserve.co.uk/smilie/dh.gif |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Party on Dudes! http://www.stopstart.freeserve.co.uk.../rock_band.gif |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44am. |