The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   watch question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/106384-watch-question.html)

Cecil4 Wed Mar 26, 2025 04:58pm

watch question
 
On the NFHS 2025 exam, this is a question:
The umpire notices that B3 is wearing a smartwatch. When the coach calls out the signal to the batter, B3 looks at the smartwatch and then steps into the batter's box. What is the correct ruling?

The “correct” test answer is:
B3 is using an electronic device to receive communication from the coach outside of the dugout. B3 is ejected unless the umpire deems it to be of a minor nature.

I disagree.

I believe we have always taught and practiced that rulings are based on facts, not mind-reading or suspicion.
If the coach “calls out the signal”, that is not electronic.
If the batter is using the smartwatch like a play card, or checking wind speed or watching her 10 second limit; that is not receiving a signal.
Wearing a smartwatch is not a violation, even in another test question.

Comments, please.

Tru_in_Blu Thu Mar 27, 2025 06:21am

I've taken my NFHS softball exam and the question from the OP isn't on my test.

That said, I would agree with your opinion.

SNIPERBBB Sun Mar 30, 2025 05:35pm

The minor/major issue needs to be better defined. Or just get rid of the distinction, however vague that is, entirely. If b3 was the catcher..ok maybe that might be minor, other than that its a deliberate disregard of the rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1