The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   different situation (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/106263-different-situation.html)

bbman Wed Aug 28, 2024 10:13pm

different situation
 
Runners on first & second, no outs. Batter hits a pop-up to shortstop. Runner on second (going to third),makes contact with shortstop attempting to catch easy pop-up (IF). Shortstop drops the pop-up but flips ball to second baseman who tags runner attempting to go from first to second before she reaches second base.
What do we have???

Tru_in_Blu Thu Aug 29, 2024 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbman (Post 1052809)
Runners on first & second, no outs. Batter hits a pop-up to shortstop. Runner on second (going to third),makes contact with shortstop attempting to catch easy pop-up (IF). Shortstop drops the pop-up but flips ball to second baseman who tags runner attempting to go from first to second before she reaches second base.
What do we have???

We'll assume that the IF rule is invoked, therefore, the batter is out.

We'll further assume that since F6 was the defender in the process of making the catch on the pop-up, that R1 interfered with F6. At this point, a dead ball should have been called. R1 out for INT and R2 returned to first base.

After all was said and done, 2 outs and a runner on first base.

If INT was not called, chaos ensues and depending upon the crew, we might end up with 2 outs and a runner on third, or worse, 1 out and runners on first and third.

Robert Goodman Thu Aug 29, 2024 11:20am

When is the interference deemed to have occurred? Is it as soon as the contact is made, or is there some additional criterion that depends on what the fielder does?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Aug 31, 2024 06:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1052811)
We'll assume that the IF rule is invoked, therefore, the batter is out.

We'll further assume that since F6 was the defender in the process of making the catch on the pop-up, that R1 interfered with F6. At this point, a dead ball should have been called. R1 out for INT and R2 returned to first base.

After all was said and done, 2 outs and a runner on first base.

If INT was not called, chaos ensues and depending upon the crew, we might end up with 2 outs and a runner on third, or worse, 1 out and runners on first and third.


👍

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1