The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 23, 2022, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 54
Questions asked

The comments below were my response to a question. Is this the way you handle this, within NFHS Rules?

Someone asked me about taped over jewelry. Jewelry is not allowed when playing, taped or not.
If there is tape and you don't know it is jewelry, you can't enforce the rule. But be honest with yourself.
I think it is usually obvious, like band-aids on both ear lobes and I think it is permissible to say "you can't play wearing jewelry" as a means of letting the player know without asking directly or the item being visible.

Side note - we don't say "take it off", just "you can't play wearing jewelry". Same goes for the bandannas.

Last edited by Cecil4; Sun Apr 24, 2022 at 06:58am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2022, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 54
OK, those comments are no longer needed, although I wonder about those playing NFHS in the fall.
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2022, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 54
An umpire asked me after the fact whether he should have let a run count on a third out. The runner had touched home before the timing play out.
The out was a live ball appeal on a tag up at first, he treated it as a "force" play.

We don't need to discuss the rule or the ruling; which we know very well.
This was an experienced umpire. What I would like is suggestions on how to better teach the rule, timing vs. force, force vs. tag, etc. or at least how to understand those who get it wrong.
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.

Last edited by Cecil4; Fri Jul 15, 2022 at 10:27am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2022, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecil4 View Post
An umpire asked me after the fact whether he should have let a run count on a third out. The runner had touched home before the timing play out.
The out was a live ball appeal on a tag up at first, he treated it as a "force" play.

We don't need to discuss the rule or the ruling; which we know very well.
This was an experienced umpire. What I would like is suggestions on how to better teach the rule, timing vs. force, force vs. tag, etc. or at least how to understand those who get it wrong.
Might not matter. We have a guy who's been umping for 28 years - and he's got about 2 year's worth of experience.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2022, 07:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 54
These are the comments I included in my monthly report to our association members. I cited USA rules because that is all we have this time of year.
-------------------------------
Runs do not score if the play results in a third out which is a force or an out at first base.
Runs do score if the runner touches home plate before a third out on a timing play, such as
- a live ball appeal of a tag up or;
- an appeal of a missed base, which was not a force out or an out at first base.
USA Softball Rule 5, Section 5; Rules Supplement 43
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 02, 2022, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 54
double base

the question:
"question and opinion first baseman makes unassisted play at first and only touches orange bag not white is orange bag and white bag one?"

my answer:
"
I assume you mean an unassisted play on a batter-runner.
If so, the defense must use the white/fair part of the base and the BR the colored part.

The colored part is not part of the base for defense unless the play is from foul ground.
Saying unassisted by F3 means to me it was fair ball and no throw from foul ground.

They are only one combined base when the play is from foul ground or the BR has reached first.

USA SB rule 8.2.N.3 "
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
He asked for it........ just another ref Basketball 5 Thu Jan 15, 2009 02:14pm
He asked Rita C Basketball 2 Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:56pm
Important lessons learned....and more questions asked mattmets Baseball 29 Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:59pm
Probably, Already Been Asked? Time2Ref Basketball 4 Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:34pm
He asked for it! sir_eldren Hockey 10 Fri Jun 04, 2004 06:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1