The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Fed rule (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/105433-fed-rule.html)

bbman Wed Jun 02, 2021 09:20pm

Fed rule
 
Can't find anything in rule book.
Bases loaded, no outs, all 3 runners are off their bases before pitch released. How many outs could you get?
If possible, mention rule #.

teebob21 Thu Jun 03, 2021 09:52am

One.

You can only get one out when multiple runners leave early. 8-7-18

bbman Fri Jun 04, 2021 11:18am

I see something under 8-6-18. But it doesn't say anything about only penalizing one runner?

Crabby_Bob Sat Jun 05, 2021 02:42pm

The effect of 8-6-18 is that the ball is dead. One runner must have left before the other therefore only one is out. It's your job to decide which.

bbman Sun Jun 06, 2021 07:21pm

Thank you for your response, that's what I wanted to know!

Manny A Wed Jun 16, 2021 01:23pm

The only organization I know where multiple runners may be ruled out for leaving their bases early is NCAA. That's because unlike any other sanction, an LBE violation is a delayed dead ball at the college level.

For those where there's an immediate dead ball ruling, in theory someone left first. The umpires then have to judge which one left first should more than one runner be in violation.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jun 16, 2021 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1043649)
The only organization I know where multiple runners may be ruled out for leaving their bases early is NCAA. That's because unlike any other sanction, an LBE violation is a delayed dead ball at the college level.

For those where there's an immediate dead ball ruling, in theory someone left first. The umpires then have to judge which one left first should more than one runner be in violation.



Manny:

I am going with the one closest to HP. Just my humble opinion; I have yet to discuss this play with Mark, Jr. but I would speculate that he would agree with me at least he had better agree with me. :D!

MTD, Sr.

Jake26 Tue Jun 29, 2021 05:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1043649)
The only organization I know where multiple runners may be ruled out for leaving their bases early is NCAA.

This is not true.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1043649)
That's because, unlike any other sanction, an LBE violation is a delayed dead ball at the college level.

This part is true. Then, the defensive team has the option of taking the penalty for leaving early or taking the result of the play. If the penalty for leaving early is taken, they get one out - whichever runner was judged to have left their base first. If the batter lines out into a DP, then the defense can take the result of the play. They get two outs, but not because two runners left early.

I believe the above to be true, but I no longer have an NCAA Rules Book to verify it and provide Rules references.

Crabby_Bob Tue Jun 29, 2021 06:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jake26 (Post 1043711)
[snip]
I believe the above to be true, but I no longer have an NCAA Rules Book to verify it and provide Rules references.

NCAA rules and interpretations here.

Like Manny, I don't know of another organization that treats leaving early as a delayed dead ball or allows more than one runner to be called out.
If you know of one, please let the board know.

In the NCAA case book:
A.R. 12-38.
With the bases loaded, the batter takes the pitch but the runners
on first and third base both leave early. Are both runners out?

RULING: The defensive coach may choose between taking the results
of the play (a ball or strike as called by the plate umpire, bases remain
loaded) or "no pitch", the batter remains at bat and the offending
runners are both declared out.
(Rule 12.14.2)

Jake26 Tue Jun 29, 2021 09:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob (Post 1043713)
NCAA rules and interpretations here.

Like Manny, I don't know of another organization that treats leaving early as a delayed dead ball or allows more than one runner to be called out.
If you know of one, please let the board know.

In the NCAA case book:
A.R. 12-38.
With the bases loaded, the batter takes the pitch but the runners
on first and third base both leave early. Are both runners out?

RULING: The defensive coach may choose between taking the results
of the play (a ball or strike as called by the plate umpire, bases remain
loaded) or "no pitch", the batter remains at bat and the offending
runners are both declared out.
(Rule 12.14.2)

Thanks. Like I said, it has been a while since I last had the chance to look at it and that is a change from then. I think. :)

Manny A Wed Jul 14, 2021 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jake26 (Post 1043716)
Thanks. Like I said, it has been a while since I last had the chance to look at it and that is a change from then. I think. :)

I'm fairly certain that even before the NCAA changed the LBE violation from an immediate No Pitch like it is in NFHS, USA Softball, etc., to a delayed dead ball, a case play existed where more than one runner could be ruled out. It was in a list of case plays that Dee Abrahamson, the Secretary Rules Editor from 1996 to 2016, had put out before they were officially codified in an NCAA Softball Case Book. If memory serves, it was when more than one runner left their bases simultaneously.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1