![]() |
Unring the IF call?
This may have been discussed here previously, but I couldn't find it.
Situation: NFHS game, bases loaded, 1 out, infield playing in for a possible force play at the plate. Batter hit a medium height popup over F4’s head. She turned and ran out toward right field in an attempt to make a catch. F9 was too far away to make a catch. PU called an IF with batter being out. When the ball dropped in over F4’s head, all base runners advanced 1 base. BR remained on first base until PU indicated that he had called IF and she was out. At our post-game, he admitted he shouldn’t have called the IF, especially with the infielders playing in. I offered the tip that if he can see the fielder’s uniform number on their back, it’s probably not going to be a catch of reasonable effort. So the question is, could he/we have “unrung” the IF call? |
I've been out of NFHS softball for a while but didn't change the IF rule where the IF can be called before the next pitch so as to avoid this situation?
|
Quote:
I think you've misinterpreted the OP. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54pm. |