![]() |
Ucla - jmu hpb?
With UCLA up 6-1 late in the game against JMU tonight, the pitch hits the JMU batter on the hand. She goes down to first base, but it told to come back.
The announcers (talking heads from ESPN), said that the hands are part of the bat so it wasn't a HBP. The JMU coach comes down, has the trainer come out to look at the batters hand, which already has an orange sized area of swelling on it. She ended up coming out of the game due to her hand injury. Does the NCAA have a different rule regarding a HBP on the hands. Did the umpire miss the call and the ESPN talking heads made up a rule to cover (unintentionally of course), for the umpires missed call. I personally suspect the umpire thought the ball hit the knob of the bat, thus the reason he called her back saying it was a foul ball. I was a bit shocked the umpires didn't get together on this call? Also, does the NCAA have replay for DI Super Regionals and CWS play? Would this be a reviewable play? |
the announcers said it hit the knob and the hand. Never heard the announcer say hands are part of the bat.
|
They did, and that ball never hit the knob. You could see from the damage on her hand that it was a very clear hit off her hand.
|
Quote:
If it hit the knob first, then not HBP, foul ball. |
Did they call it a foul ball?
Did she swing for a dead ball strike? I doubt that could be reviewable, even if there is some. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53pm. |