The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 06, 2019, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Blew the call, nobody knows...

... and I'm still beating myself up over it.

Typical play at 1B, F3 has to stretch and controls the catch, then the glove slams to the ground and the ball pops out. BU (me) uses good timing mechanics, then, Safe! Nobody says boo.

B/R was out the split second the catch was controlled.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 06, 2019, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Based on your description im not sure that qualifies as control. Remember, to have a catch you must have the fielder demonstrate control of the ball long enough to prove they caught it and/or voluntary release. If the fielder catches the ball, falls to the ground or collides with something and loses control it is not a catch.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 06, 2019, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
I don't think you kicked this. Speaking USA:

Quote:
To establish a valid catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove control of it and/or that the release is voluntary.
As you describe it, I don't see voluntary release.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 11, 2019, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
I don't think you kicked this. Speaking USA:



As you describe it, I don't see voluntary release.
You should know by now that is not a condition of a catch. The OP clearly states that in his judgment, the ball was caught.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 12, 2019, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
You should know by now that is not a condition of a catch. The OP clearly states that in his judgment, the ball was caught.
Mike, how do you arrive at that conclusion? It's right there in the USA definition; page 19.

(Ignoring for the sake of discussion the OP's judgment that it *was* a catch)
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 12, 2019, 07:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
Mike, how do you arrive at that conclusion? It's right there in the USA definition; page 19.
Point out where is states a release MUST be voluntary
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2019, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Rule 1 Catch/No Catch Section A-1?

I already posted the line verbatim in this thread....something is going wooosh over my head here on this line of thought.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 06, 2019, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
... and I'm still beating myself up over it.

Typical play at 1B, F3 has to stretch and controls the catch, then the glove slams to the ground and the ball pops out. BU (me) uses good timing mechanics, then, Safe! Nobody says boo.

B/R was out the split second the catch was controlled.
It is not clear that the "glove slams to the ground" was part of the catching motion. If it was, then probably not voluntary.
If F3 was then doing another "softball move" ; might have been control.

Either way, glad you are human.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 06, 2019, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Either way, glad you are human.
Gott dang robot umps are taking over everywhere!
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 07, 2019, 05:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
... and I'm still beating myself up over it.

Typical play at 1B, F3 has to stretch and controls the catch, then the glove slams to the ground and the ball pops out. BU (me) uses good timing mechanics, then, Safe! Nobody says boo.

B/R was out the split second the catch was controlled.
This string talks a bit about a catch and control. Judgment calls that could be debated.

A while back, I came across a case play somewhere that reminds me of "the split second" concept.

F3 fields a ground ball on a diving play towards first base. She retrieves the ball in her bare hand and has control of it. She dives for the base and with the ball in her hand manages to touch first base. But her momentum causes the ball to pop out of her hand after which the BR crosses the base.

The ruling I recall on this play was that the BR was out "the split second" that the ball touched the base. I brought this up as a question at a NUS and we had differing opinions.

I'll look, but I'm not sure I'll be able to find that play in my files.

Comments from this forum?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 07, 2019, 06:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Ah, found it. The "high intensity data retrieval system" hard at work.

This is actually from April 2010 Plays and Clarifications...

Play: B2 slaps the pitch toward the right side of the infield and F3 fields the ball with their bare hand and dives for 1B. In the base umpire’s opinion, F3 has control of the ball and is holding the ball securely while diving on 1B and touching it with the ball. As soon as F3 touches 1B with the ball, the ball rolls loose into foul ground.

Ruling: This is a judgment call by the umpire in regards to F3 having control of the ball when touching 1B. The runner should be ruled out if the umpire judged the fielder had possession of the ball at the time of touching the base, regardless of the ball coming loose after touching the base. The issue is control for that split second that the ball touches the base. If control is established when the fielder touches the base B2 would be out.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 07, 2019, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Ah, found it. The "high intensity data retrieval system" hard at work.

This is actually from April 2010 Plays and Clarifications...

Play: B2 slaps the pitch toward the right side of the infield and F3 fields the ball with their bare hand and dives for 1B. In the base umpire’s opinion, F3 has control of the ball and is holding the ball securely while diving on 1B and touching it with the ball. As soon as F3 touches 1B with the ball, the ball rolls loose into foul ground.

Ruling: This is a judgment call by the umpire in regards to F3 having control of the ball when touching 1B. The runner should be ruled out if the umpire judged the fielder had possession of the ball at the time of touching the base, regardless of the ball coming loose after touching the base. The issue is control for that split second that the ball touches the base. If control is established when the fielder touches the base B2 would be out.
So, a judgment call, not much of a clarification, like many others.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 07, 2019, 07:58am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Ah, found it. The "high intensity data retrieval system" hard at work.

This is actually from April 2010 Plays and Clarifications...

Play: B2 slaps the pitch toward the right side of the infield and F3 fields the ball with their bare hand and dives for 1B. In the base umpire’s opinion, F3 has control of the ball and is holding the ball securely while diving on 1B and touching it with the ball. As soon as F3 touches 1B with the ball, the ball rolls loose into foul ground.

Ruling: This is a judgment call by the umpire in regards to F3 having control of the ball when touching 1B. The runner should be ruled out if the umpire judged the fielder had possession of the ball at the time of touching the base, regardless of the ball coming loose after touching the base. The issue is control for that split second that the ball touches the base. If control is established when the fielder touches the base B2 would be out.
It would be a very hard sell to claim that F3 had control "for that split second that the ball touches the base". I have to believe the reason the ball came loose was because it was jarred out of F3's hand the moment she contacted the base with the ball.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 07, 2019, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Thanks for the feedback guys.

Based my thoughts on the play where F6 catches the throw at 2B for a force out, a split-second later gets bumped by the runner coming into 2B and dislodges the ball. If your judgement has that catch controlled for that split second, the runner was out at that moment.

In my OP, I had control, the slam of the glove on the ground was a separate act. Shouldve been an out.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 07, 2019, 08:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Your scenario reminds me of the bases-loaded, 2-out bunt that settles to a stop on the plate. F2 picks up the ball. Is R1 on 3B called out in the infinitesimal moment of picking the ball up (when it was still in contact with the plate)?

If I recall, that thread was debated for several pages
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I blew the call.... Bearfanmike20 Basketball 28 Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:31pm
Blew a time out call MOFFICIAL Basketball 12 Wed Feb 20, 2008 08:11am
I think, no, I know I blew a call tonight MajorDave Baseball 19 Mon May 07, 2007 07:07am
blew call do i correct with ap? roadking Basketball 8 Tue Jan 11, 2005 09:39am
Blew The Call wolfen Basketball 20 Mon Dec 20, 2004 08:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1