The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Cr (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/104509-cr.html)

bbman Sun Mar 31, 2019 10:31am

Cr
 
Play:
S11 bats for pitcher, who gets on base. Can coach c/r for her since she batter for pitcher?
Play:
S11 bats for pitcher, who gets on base. Coach then puts pitcher back in game to replace S11 who is still on base. Can coach then put C/R in for pitcher thatís now on base?

Tru_in_Blu Sun Mar 31, 2019 10:54am

No can do, BBMAN.

The pitcher or catcher must earn their way on base in order to qualify for a CR.

Only in the top of the first inning can someone listed as either F1 or F2 be granted a CR if they reach base. Or, if F1 or F2 is scheduled to be the runner to be placed on second base in a tie breaker situation.

Manny A Mon Apr 01, 2019 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1031865)
Only in the top of the first inning can someone listed as either F1 or F2 be granted a CR if they reach base. Or, if F1 or F2 is scheduled to be the runner to be placed on second base in a tie breaker situation.

I agree with your first comment. I'm not so sure about the second one. The pitcher or catcher must "earn" their way on base. Is being the runner on second for the tiebreaker considered "earning" the base? I've never seen a case play that verifies that. The NFHS rule book doesn't cover it since the tiebreaker system is a state option that really doesn't get explained in the book.

Is there a clarification or case play in USA Softball that says a CR may be used at second base under the tiebreaker system?

CecilOne Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1031923)
I agree with your first comment. I'm not so sure about the second one. The pitcher or catcher must "earn" their way on base. Is being the runner on second for the tiebreaker considered "earning" the base? I've never seen a case play that verifies that. The NFHS rule book doesn't cover it since the tiebreaker system is a state option that really doesn't get explained in the book.

Is there a clarification or case play in USA Softball that says a CR may be used at second base under the tiebreaker system?

It has been interpreted and clarified- as "earning" the spot at 2nd; because the non-earning rule was just to avoid pinch hitters, etc. I don't know where or when anymore.

AtlUmpSteve Sat Apr 06, 2019 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1031923)
I agree with your first comment. I'm not so sure about the second one. The pitcher or catcher must "earn" their way on base. Is being the runner on second for the tiebreaker considered "earning" the base? I've never seen a case play that verifies that. The NFHS rule book doesn't cover it since the tiebreaker system is a state option that really doesn't get explained in the book.

Is there a clarification or case play in USA Softball that says a CR may be used at second base under the tiebreaker system?

Yes. There was that clarification the year AFTER the rule was first reworded to include "earn", because your interpretation was never the intent. The rule wording exists for one and only purpose to eliminate the "strategy" of a sub for F1 or F2 reaching base, the F1 or F2 re-entering, and then attempting to allow a CR.

And there was an NFHS case play ruling, as well. The F1 and F2 "earn their way" in tie-breaker innings the same way as every other player in the lineup; by being the listed 9th batter in the inning.

If the one and only requirement was for them to have been a batter that reached base safely, it would say that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1