The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   lodged ball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/104459-lodged-ball.html)

bbman Mon Mar 18, 2019 01:52pm

lodged ball
 
nfhs 8-4-1 g.
Ball gets lodged in defensive players equipment/uniform, ball remains live. Does this mean the runner can continue running around the bases if the player can't unlodge the ball from herself?

jmkupka Mon Mar 18, 2019 02:36pm

Can't see which rule would require me to stop the runner just because the ball is inside the fielder's jersey...

Now, if it's jammed in the webbing of her glove, just toss the glove!

CecilOne Mon Mar 18, 2019 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1031199)
Can't see which rule would require me to stop the runner just because the ball is inside the fielder's jersey...

Now, if it's jammed in the webbing of her glove, just toss the glove!

IOW, a live ball is just that, all plays are active.

youngump Mon Mar 18, 2019 05:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1031199)
Can't see which rule would require me to stop the runner just because the ball is inside the fielder's jersey...

Now, if it's jammed in the webbing of her glove, just toss the glove!

Wouldn't that result in an award under 8-4-d? I feel like the answer is no but I can't justify that to myself.

Tru_in_Blu Mon Mar 18, 2019 08:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 1031214)
Wouldn't that result in an award under 8-4-d? I feel like the answer is no but I can't justify that to myself.

You've never seen that before, even in baseball?

Hard 1-hopper to F1 and the ball gets stuck in the webbing. She runs half-way to first base and tosses glove and ball to F3 who secures the entire package.

At no point did a fielder make a play with detached equipment.

F1 had the glove on when the ball lodged in the webbing. F3 had the glove on when securing the ball (surrounded by F1's glove).

Stat-Man Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1031223)
You've never seen that before, even in baseball?

Hard 1-hopper to F1 and the ball gets stuck in the webbing. She runs half-way to first base and tosses glove and ball to F3 who secures the entire package.

At no point did a fielder make a play with detached equipment.

F1 had the glove on when the ball lodged in the webbing. F3 had the glove on when securing the ball (surrounded by F1's glove).


I'm not sure if NFHS softball has a ruling on this but NFHS baseball has added an interpretation this year stating its legal.

chapmaja Tue Mar 19, 2019 10:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1031199)
Can't see which rule would require me to stop the runner just because the ball is inside the fielder's jersey...

Now, if it's jammed in the webbing of her glove, just toss the glove!

Why did the following just come to mind. Runner at second is stealing. The pitched ball somehow lodges in the catchers uniform or equipment. The coach, not realizing where the ball is sends the runner home. The catcher, realizing the can't get the ball out decides to jump on top of the runner sliding into the plate to "tag" the runner. The call is obvious but it would be the other circumstances that would be a problem. Now if she dives as she is pulling the ball out of the uniform we have an even messier situation.

If I ever see this I am quitting by the way.

Manny A Tue Mar 19, 2019 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 1031258)
Why did the following just come to mind. Runner at second is stealing. The pitched ball somehow lodges in the catchers uniform or equipment. The coach, not realizing where the ball is sends the runner home. The catcher, realizing the can't get the ball out decides to jump on top of the runner sliding into the plate to "tag" the runner. The call is obvious but it would be the other circumstances that would be a problem. Now if she dives as she is pulling the ball out of the uniform we have an even messier situation.

If I ever see this I am quitting by the way.

Well, considering that a legal tag of a runner can only take place with the ball in the fielder's glove or hand, then jumping on top of a runner with the ball under her jersey would not constitute a tag.

The real interesting question is, Would the catcher be guilty of obstruction? Is the ball inside of fielder's equipment or uniform considered "possession"? Remember that in NFHS, a pitcher has possession of the ball in the circle even if the ball is not in her hand or glove. For example, there's a case play where the pitcher tucks the ball under her chin while fixing her hair, and the ruling is that she still has the ball in her possession. So would the same be true here? Hmmm...

chapmaja Tue Mar 19, 2019 10:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1031282)
Well, considering that a legal tag of a runner can only take place with the ball in the fielder's glove or hand, then jumping on top of a runner with the ball under her jersey would not constitute a tag.

The real interesting question is, Would the catcher be guilty of obstruction? Is the ball inside of fielder's equipment or uniform considered "possession"? Remember that in NFHS, a pitcher has possession of the ball in the circle even if the ball is not in her hand or glove. For example, there's a case play where the pitcher tucks the ball under her chin while fixing her hair, and the ruling is that she still has the ball in her possession. So would the same be true here? Hmmm...

That's a good question.

Tru_in_Blu Wed Mar 20, 2019 07:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1031282)
Well, considering that a legal tag of a runner can only take place with the ball in the fielder's glove or hand, then jumping on top of a runner with the ball under her jersey would not constitute a tag.

The real interesting question is, Would the catcher be guilty of obstruction? Is the ball inside of fielder's equipment or uniform considered "possession"? Remember that in NFHS, a pitcher has possession of the ball in the circle even if the ball is not in her hand or glove. For example, there's a case play where the pitcher tucks the ball under her chin while fixing her hair, and the ruling is that she still has the ball in her possession. So would the same be true here? Hmmm...

The pitcher in the circle with the ball between her knees or under her chin is considered "possession" for NFHS but not USA.

We know the definition of a catch, say by F3 on a play at first base on the BR. If the ball is held between body parts, that is not sufficient for an out call. Ball must be in the hand or glove. I'd say the same would be true for a defensive player making a tag play. If a ball was caught between F2's chest protector and jersey, I'd not consider that possession and if F2 was blocking the path of a runner prior to getting the ball in her hand/glove, I think it would/should be OBS.

CecilOne Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1031282)
Remember that in NFHS, a pitcher has possession of the ball in the circle even if the ball is not in her hand or glove. ...

In the LBR rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1