The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Batting out of order (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/104421-batting-out-order.html)

Blueplate Fri Mar 01, 2019 11:00am

Batting out of order
 
Nfhs
Team A has batted out of order , with several players before Team B discovers it.
The umpire informs Team B that the line up is now legalized since no appeal was properly made.

B4 is on second base and she is the pitcher, her time at bat is coming up.
Team A, elects to put in a courtesy runner so she can bat again. Is this legal?

Or, the courtesy runner is legal, but you skip her time at bat because of the courtesy runner being on base?

Penalty:( Art. 1, 2): #6"states that when several players bat out of order before discovery so that a player's time at bat occurs while she is a runner. Such player remains on base, but she is NOT out as a batter."

youngump Fri Mar 01, 2019 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blueplate (Post 1030791)
Nfhs
Team A has batted out of order , with several players before Team B discovers it.
The umpire informs Team B that the line up is now legalized since no appeal was properly made.

B4 is on second base and she is the pitcher, her time at bat is coming up.
Team A, elects to put in a courtesy runner so she can bat again. Is this legal?

Or, the courtesy runner is legal, but you skip her time at bat because of the courtesy runner being on base?

Penalty:( Art. 1, 2): #6"states that when several players bat out of order before discovery so that a player's time at bat occurs while she is a runner. Such player remains on base, but she is NOT out as a batter."

I'd go with not covered by the rules, skip the pitcher's turn because her courtesy runner is on base. Also, I assume B4 is a team ***A*** player, otherwise we have a lot more to unpack here.

Manny A Fri Mar 01, 2019 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blueplate (Post 1030791)
Nfhs
Team A has batted out of order , with several players before Team B discovers it.
The umpire informs Team B that the line up is now legalized since no appeal was properly made.

B4 is on second base and she is the pitcher, her time at bat is coming up.
Team A, elects to put in a courtesy runner so she can bat again. Is this legal?

Or, the courtesy runner is legal, but you skip her time at bat because of the courtesy runner being on base?

Penalty:( Art. 1, 2): #6"states that when several players bat out of order before discovery so that a player's time at bat occurs while she is a runner. Such player remains on base, but she is NOT out as a batter."

From 6-1-1 in the book:

Quote:

6. When several players bat out of order before discovery so that a player's time at bat occurs while she is a runner. Such player remains on base, but she is NOT out as a batter.
So, No, it is not legal to take the pitcher off second base by replacing her with a substitute or a courtesy runner. You can enter a sub or CR for the pitcher at second, but that person still represents the proper batter who gets skipped.

youngump Fri Mar 01, 2019 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1030802)
So, No, it is not legal to take the pitcher off second base by replacing her with a substitute or a courtesy runner. You can enter a sub or CR for the pitcher at second, but that person still represents the proper batter who gets skipped.

I agree with your conclusion here though your first sentence should read "So she can bat" at the end. But do you get there by anything other than not covered in the rules, spirit and intent, etc?

CecilOne Fri Mar 01, 2019 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1030802)
From 6-1-1 in the book:

6. When several players bat out of order before discovery so that a player's time at bat occurs while she is a runner. Such player remains on base, but she is NOT out as a batter.

So, No, it is not legal to take the pitcher off second base by replacing her with a substitute or a courtesy runner.

I think you mean 7-1 Penalty 6.

Of course not, as that would be a sub and starter in game at the same time.
The CR rule places the pitcher or catcher out of play, so also could not bat. '

That implies that the player who does bat after the above is not BOO, even though they are not the "proper" batter. :)

Manny A Fri Mar 01, 2019 09:14pm

Yeah, sorry; I was a little distracted when I was typing that, and hit Submit before I proofed it. :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1