The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Batter touches own batted ball. (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/103910-batter-touches-own-batted-ball.html)

cozzmokramer Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:27am

Batter touches own batted ball.
 
Batter hits a slow roller down first base line and as she is running to 1st the ball contacts her in foul territory outside of batters box. Umpire calls her out. Is this correct? I thought she could only be called out if it was deemed the batter intentionally made contact. Thanks for the help.

ilyazhito Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:52am

Batter hit with a foul batted ball = foul ball. If a ball hits an object foreign to the ground in foul territory, and the batter is foreign to the ground, then it is a foul ball. This is the same reason why a runner hit with a batted ball in foul territory is a foul ball, but a runner hit in fair territory is out (unless the ball passes a fielder, or the runner is occupying a base (only in softball)).

Umpire@1 Thu Jul 05, 2018 07:42pm

Foul ball


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1