![]() |
|
|
|||
Detached Equipment
Gotta share this one from the Softball Umpires facebook page:
Catch or No Catch? B1 hits a high line drive, knocking the glove off F5’s hand with the ball in it. Prior to the glove hitting the ground F5 catches the glove/ball. F6 starts to celebrate his catch. Catch or No Catch? I am assuming that F6 actually grabbed the glove before hitting the ground, but it is irrelevant. There is obviously not enough info, so the assumption is the second defender eventually took possession of the ball. However, the argument being made is that this is a no catch based on detached equipment. Though not a given, much of the debate is based on USA rules Thoughts?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
If F6 caught the glove, that is detached equipment. Why is that irrelevant?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
USA rules states: 8.5.F
"When a fielder intentionally contacts or catches... I have a legal catch, regardless if F5 or F6 managed to snag the glove before it hit the ground. Much like a batted ball in the air that deflects off one fielder and another catches the ball.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Because it does not meet the definition of detached equipment as it refers to making a play with the ball
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
The debate involves the USA Definition of No Catch under Rule 1. It says it is not a catch:
Quote:
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
First, I understand and agree with you that this is not detached equipment for the reasons you say. Second, I think the original post has a typo because the writer says the glove came off F5 and F5 caught the glove. Then the writer says F6 celebrates. Let's assume F6 has nothing to do with this play because F5 is the one who caught the glove. So if F5 caught the glove which contains the ball, but she does not but the glove on her hand, do we need to wait to make the out call until she either 1) puts the glove on her hand properly with the ball in it, or 2) takes the ball out with her bare hand. Otherwise is this like a fielder trapping the ball against her chest and we don't have an out unless she controls the ball with the hand or glove? Thanks |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Detached equipment (OBR) | David Emerling | Baseball | 30 | Fri Sep 28, 2012 03:00pm |
Detached Player Equipment | MikeStrybel | Baseball | 3 | Mon Dec 12, 2011 07:55pm |
Detached Equipment on a Foul Fly | SC Ump | Softball | 12 | Mon May 11, 2009 02:56pm |
detached equipment | ggk | Baseball | 17 | Sun Jan 20, 2008 01:21am |
Detached Equipment | rwest | Softball | 6 | Fri May 05, 2006 01:09pm |