The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   USA test question #34 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/103750-usa-test-question-34-a.html)

CecilOne Sat Apr 07, 2018 05:17pm

USA test question #34
 
USA test question #34

Runners on 2nd and 1st. B3 hits line drive to F4, who is unable to make the catch and the carom strikes R2 while still in the air. Then, still in the air, it is caught by F3. Live ball, no catch.

If the carom off R2 was caught in place by F4, would you rule “step and reach”?

RKBUmp Sat Apr 07, 2018 05:54pm

There is no step and reach in USA and even NFHS has a rule similar to USA that there is no penalty to a runner who cannot avoid a deflected batted ball.

CecilOne Sat Apr 07, 2018 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 1020540)
There is no step and reach in USA and even NFHS has a rule similar to USA that there is no penalty to a runner who cannot avoid a deflected batted ball.

OK, I should said "if it was NFHS" :rolleyes:.
The point being a ball in the air, as opposed to on the ground.

Tru_in_Blu Sat Apr 07, 2018 06:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 1020537)
USA test question #34

Runners on 2nd and 1st. B3 hits line drive to F4, who is unable to make the catch and the carom strikes R2 while still in the air. Then, still in the air, it is caught by F3. Live ball, no catch.

If the carom off R2 was caught in place by F4, would you rule “step and reach”?

Once it hits anything other than another defensive player (fence, runner, umpire, dirt), it is no longer "catch-able".

Def. of catch, B.2

CecilOne Sat Apr 07, 2018 06:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1020545)
Once it hits anything other than another defensive player (fence, runner, umpire, dirt), it is no longer "catch-able".

Def. of catch, B.2

That's why the OP says "Live ball, no catch"

Tru_in_Blu Sat Apr 07, 2018 06:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 1020547)
That's why the OP says "Live ball, no catch"

The carom off the runner may be physically caught by another fielder, but it cannot be ruled a "catch".

Am I confused by what you're asking?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1