The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Collision at 1B (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/102768-collision-1b.html)

Dakota Sun Jun 25, 2017 08:43pm

Collision at 1B
 
Lower skilled teams. I was watching the game. USA rules.

Batter hits an infield ground ball.

F3 is set up for some reason off 1B toward home straddling the foul line.

Throw to F3 arrives before the runner arrives, and F3 clearly has possession of the ball before BR arrives.

But since F3 is off the bag (and partially in foul territory) she attempts to reach back with her leg to find 1B with her foot, but is finding the orange bag, not white.

BR arrives before F3 manages to touch the white bag. BR, running toward the bag, remains upright and collides squarely with F3, knocking her down. BR then touches the orange bag.

There is no attempt at a tag, and there is no indication of malicious intent on the part of the BR.

Call?

Mountaincoach Sun Jun 25, 2017 09:38pm

You described the classic example of the only time that a fielder can use the orange bag to get a runner out, when they're coming from foul territory back toward the line. It's a safety consideration to avoid a collision. When F3 found that orange bag with her foot, the BR should have been called out.

RKBUmp Sun Jun 25, 2017 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mountaincoach (Post 1007252)
You described the classic example of the only time that a fielder can use the orange bag to get a runner out, when they're coming from foul territory back toward the line. It's a safety consideration to avoid a collision. When F3 found that orange bag with her foot, the BR should have been called out.

The rule says the defense can use the orange base if the throw is coming from foul territory, if the play takes the fielder into foul territory or if an errant throw draws the fielder onto the orange base. None of those situations were described in the op, the fielder simply was not set up on the white base and went to the orange. Based on the op not calling an out for touching only the orange base would be correct.

teebob21 Sun Jun 25, 2017 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 1007247)
Call?

USA rules? Obstruction.

The ball was thrown from fair territory, and doesn't seem to be an errant throw. I wasn't there, but if I was, based on the original post, I am putting the BR on 1B.

derwil Mon Jun 26, 2017 01:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 1007261)
USA rules? Obstruction.

The ball was thrown from fair territory, and doesn't seem to be an errant throw. I wasn't there, but if I was, based on the original post, I am putting the BR on 1B.

Yup

Dakota Mon Jun 26, 2017 06:23am

Just to clarify, the throw came from the infield (fair territory) and the fielder was not drawn into foul ground by the throw; she was already there.

Colo Blue Mon Jun 26, 2017 07:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 1007261)
USA rules? Obstruction.

The ball was thrown from fair territory, and doesn't seem to be an errant throw. I wasn't there, but if I was, based on the original post, I am putting the BR on 1B.

How can you have obstruction? In the OP, the fielder clearly had possession of the ball prior to the batter-runner arriving.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jun 26, 2017 08:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 1007261)
USA rules? Obstruction.

The ball was thrown from fair territory, and doesn't seem to be an errant throw. I wasn't there, but if I was, based on the original post, I am putting the BR on 1B.

How can you rule obstruction when the defender is in possession of the ball?

CecilOne Mon Jun 26, 2017 09:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 1007261)
USA rules? Obstruction.

The ball was thrown from fair territory, and doesn't seem to be an errant throw. I wasn't there, but if I was, based on the original post, I am putting the BR on 1B.

F3 clearly has possession of the ball before BR arrives.

CecilOne Mon Jun 26, 2017 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 1007247)
BR arrives before F3 manages to touch the white bag. BR, running toward the bag, remains upright and collides squarely with F3, knocking her down. BR then touches the orange bag.
Call?

Down to the essentials, you are asking if this was interference.

"remains upright and collides squarely with F3" is the key. Yes, INT, an out.

Dakota Mon Jun 26, 2017 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 1007287)
Down to the essentials, you are asking if this was interference.

"remains upright and collides squarely with F3" is the key. Yes, INT, an out.

Yes, but I didn't want to bias the question too much.

The umpire on the field and I had a long discussion about this play.

The call was safe.

I asked if he considered crash interference. He did not.

He and I wanted the views of members here. This was a 1-man game, so the umpire's view was from the "trailing the BR" position.

CecilOne Mon Jun 26, 2017 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 1007294)
This was a 1-man game

All difficult calls are excused. :rolleyes:

Dakota Mon Jun 26, 2017 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 1007298)
All difficult calls are excused. :rolleyes:

:eek:

;)

teebob21 Mon Jun 26, 2017 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 1007286)
F3 clearly has possession of the ball before BR arrives.

D'oh! I missed that part and assumed incorrectly that the fielder was on the orange bag when the ball and runner arrived at roughly the same time. This is not obstruction.

The call is Safe, as the fielder has the onus on this play to use the white bag. However, since the BR, touched ONLY the white while a play was being made on her, the defense could have made an appeal for an out until the time that the BR returned to the orange base. 8.2.N

Dakota Mon Jun 26, 2017 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 1007306)
D'oh! I missed that part and assumed incorrectly that the fielder was on the orange bag when the ball and runner arrived at roughly the same time. This is not obstruction.

The call is Safe, as the fielder has the onus on this play to use the white bag. However, since the BR, touched ONLY the white while a play was being made on her, the defense could have made an appeal for an out until the time that the BR returned to the orange base. 8.2.N

The BR knocked F3 on her keister and then touched the orange bag.

Manny A Mon Jun 26, 2017 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 1007294)
There is no attempt at a tag, and there is no indication of malicious intent on the part of the BR.
.
.
.
I asked if he considered crash interference. He did not.

Crash interference happens when the runner collides with the fielder who has the ball and is waiting to apply a tag. You said there was no attempt at a tag, so you really cannot consider this as a crash under USA rules.

As you described it, I don't have anything here. The runner is entitled to the base, and as long as she doesn't do anything malicious, she can go in upright unless the fielder is standing there waiting to tag her.

But I do have to question when the contact took place, where was the fielder's glove with the ball in it? Is it entirely possible that the BR ran into the glove when she collided with F3? It's entirely possible that you had an inadvertent tag (but a tag nonetheless) if F3 was facing the BR while looking back to find the white bag. I guess it's a HTBT in that case.

josephrt1 Wed Jun 28, 2017 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1007311)
Crash interference happens when the runner collides with the fielder who has the ball and is waiting to apply a tag. You said there was no attempt at a tag, so you really cannot consider this as a crash under USA rules.

I have to disagree here. This appears to be a book definition of a crash. The actual USA rule is (8.7.Q):

Q. When a defensive player has the ball and the runner remains upright and crashes into the defensive player.
Effect:
1. The ball is dead.
2. The runner is out.
3. Runners must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.
4. If flagrant, the runner is ejected.

This should not be based on an attempt at a tag. That is not a requirement of the rule. I know it says in the Rule Supplement "waiting to apply a tag", but the actual rule does not include those words. The rule is an effort to prevent injury and protect defensive players. I have an out here.

RKBUmp Wed Jun 28, 2017 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by josephrt1 (Post 1007341)
I have to disagree here. This appears to be a book definition of a crash. The actual USA rule is (8.7.Q):

Q. When a defensive player has the ball and the runner remains upright and crashes into the defensive player.
Effect:
1. The ball is dead.
2. The runner is out.
3. Runners must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.
4. If flagrant, the runner is ejected.

This should not be based on an attempt at a tag. That is not a requirement of the rule. I know it says in the Rule Supplement "waiting to apply a tag", but the actual rule does not include those words. The rule is an effort to prevent injury and protect defensive players. I have an out here.

Rule supplement 13 states in possession of the ball and waiting to make a tag.

josephrt1 Wed Jun 28, 2017 07:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 1007342)
Rule supplement 13 states in possession of the ball and waiting to make a tag.

But the rule states

"8.7.Q. When a defensive player has the ball and the runner remains upright and crashes into the defensive player.
Effect:
1. The ball is dead.
2. The runner is out.

RKBUmp Wed Jun 28, 2017 10:09pm

And the rules supplement is direction on how the rule is to be applied. The case play for the rule also indicates the fielder having the ball and waiting to make a tag.

CecilOne Thu Jun 29, 2017 06:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 1007346)
And the rules supplement is direction on how the rule is to be applied. The case play for the rule also indicates the fielder having the ball and waiting to make a tag.

A case play is just an example of one situation when a rule applies.
It is not a universal rule in itself.

The RS says waiting to make a tag; but does not say only then, just that the rule applies to that situation. It also refers to preventing injury, which is just as much a factor in any crash, not just when attempting at tag. It reads like shortsighted visualization to make an unneeded point.

To be truly literal, the fielder was attempting to tag the base.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jun 29, 2017 08:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 1007342)
Rule supplement 13 states in possession of the ball and waiting to make a tag.

So it is permissible to send a defender with the ball into the next century, intentional or not because the player isn't standing there waiting to make a tag?

For years the RS on obstruction clearly noted that blocking the base without the ball IS obstruction. Well, we all know that's not true as did ASA, but they kept it there as a "dummied" down version for the coaches, or so I was told.

IMO, the RS are there to aid in the application of the rules, not supersede them.

And then there is the point of the definition of "tag" which is not limited to actually touching a runner with the ball or glove containing the ball.

IMO, if the collision prevented the defender from tagging the base, it is INT

RKBUmp Thu Jun 29, 2017 09:12am

I never said it was permissible to send F3 into the next century, nor does the original post give any indication that was the case. In fact, the post says there was no indication of any attempt at malicious contact. The post also gives no indication of how long F3 had the ball before the contact or if the runner had enough time to pull up, veer off, go around etc.

CecilOne Thu Jun 29, 2017 10:41am

Knocking her down is close enough to next century for me.

"Upright crash" and "malicious" are two different things.

Why does "how long F3 had the ball before the contact" matter? Possession or not does not depend on time.

BR has all the time from HP to 1st when fielder is set up in the way.

The rule is about injury avoidance.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 1007247)
Lower skilled teams. I was watching the game. USA rules.

Batter hits an infield ground ball.

F3 is set up for some reason off 1B toward home straddling the foul line.

Throw to F3 arrives before the runner arrives, and F3 clearly has possession of the ball before BR arrives.

Going to assume that at this point, there has been no impediment to the BR prior to possession
Quote:


But since F3 is off the bag (and partially in foul territory) she attempts to reach back with her leg to find 1B with her foot, but is finding the orange bag, not white.

At this point F3 owns the field as long as she retains possession of the ball.

Quote:

BR arrives before F3 manages to touch the white bag. BR, running toward the bag, remains upright and collides squarely with F3, knocking her down. BR then touches the orange bag.

There is no attempt at a tag, and there is no indication of malicious intent on the part of the BR.

Call?
Out.

8.7.Q: (The Batter is Out) When a defensive player has the ball and the runner remains upright and crashes into the defensive player.

And I know what the RS has to say about a tag. Well, two things here. First, attempting to touch first base with one's foot while in possession of the ball to retire a BR is, by definition a tag. Secondly, I would defer to the stated intent of the rule which is noted in the opening of RS#13 "In an effort to prevent injury and protect a defensive player attempting to make a play on a runner..."

IMO, the "waiting to make a tag" insertion in the RS (only) was a default as to when such an act is seen the most. The RS even offers options to avoid an out ruling, three of which were available, though one very unlikely to the BR.

The act in the OP is a rarity, but think about what you would do if it were F4 turning their back to touch 2B on a force and the runner just pushed the defender aside in order to reach that base safely.

CecilOne Sun Jul 16, 2017 07:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 1007862)
Going to assume that at this point, there has been no impediment to the BR prior to possession

At this point F3 owns the field as long as she retains possession of the ball.



Out.

8.7.Q: (The Batter is Out) When a defensive player has the ball and the runner remains upright and crashes into the defensive player.

And I know what the RS has to say about a tag. Well, two things here. First, attempting to touch first base with one's foot while in possession of the ball to retire a BR is, by definition a tag. Secondly, I would defer to the stated intent of the rule which is noted in the opening of RS#13 "In an effort to prevent injury and protect a defensive player attempting to make a play on a runner..."

IMO, the "waiting to make a tag" insertion in the RS (only) was a default as to when such an act is seen the most. The RS even offers options to avoid an out ruling, three of which were available, though one very unlikely to the BR.

The act in the OP is a rarity, but think about what you would do if it were F4 turning their back to touch 2B on a force and the runner just pushed the defender aside in order to reach that base safely.

Does that means you agree with posts 9, 10, 21?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1