The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Rules Question: (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/102687-rules-question.html)

CoachBeezer Thu May 25, 2017 10:20am

Rules Question:
 
Runner on 3rd base, 1 out. On a high fly ball to CF, the runner fails to tag up and sprints home sliding into and past the plate. Upon realizing the ball will be caught, the runner sprints back to 3rd base and beats the throw to 3rd. Before sprinting back to 3rd base the runner fails to retouch Home Plate. Is the runner:

A) Out on appeal for not re-touching Home Plate?

B) Safe because she does not need to retouch the plate as it is the last base touched in sequential order.

youngump Thu May 25, 2017 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachBeezer (Post 1006139)
Runner on 3rd base, 1 out. On a high fly ball to CF, the runner fails to tag up and sprints home sliding into and past the plate. Upon realizing the ball will be caught, the runner sprints back to 3rd base and beats the throw to 3rd. Before sprinting back to 3rd base the runner fails to retouch Home Plate. Is the runner:

A) Out on appeal for not re-touching Home Plate?

B) Safe because she does not need to retouch the plate as it is the last base touched in sequential order.

If the defense appeals that she didn't retouch she's out.

Dakota Thu May 25, 2017 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachBeezer (Post 1006139)
Runner on 3rd base, 1 out. On a high fly ball to CF, the runner fails to tag up and sprints home sliding into and past the plate. Upon realizing the ball will be caught, the runner sprints back to 3rd base and beats the throw to 3rd. Before sprinting back to 3rd base the runner fails to retouch Home Plate. Is the runner:

A) Out on appeal for not re-touching Home Plate?

B) Safe because she does not need to retouch the plate as it is the last base touched in sequential order.

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 1006141)
If the defense appeals that she didn't retouch she's out.

Agreed. She is safe on the live ball appeal at 3rd, but out if the defense then appeals she missed home on the return.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1