The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   My Dumb Move (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/102601-my-dumb-move.html)

MT 73 Tue Apr 25, 2017 01:06am

My Dumb Move
 
Varsity softball. USA rule set
I am the BU.
Batter strikes out with one out and runner on first .
Catcher drops the ball and batter takes off for 1B
Now we have runners at first and second when the PU informs the B/R that she is out on the strikeout.
As I move towards the C position I see that R2 is walking back to first base since she thought that her advance was not legal.
"No, no", I tell her,"Go back to second, you can stay there"
Which she does.
I immediately realize my error and, between innings I confer with my partner who had wanted to call her out for running the bases in reverse.
I tell him I do not think you can do that but maybe she could have be called out for being off the base when the pitcher has the ball in the circle.
Anyway, suppose I had just kept quiet and allowed her to return to 1B?
Any violations?
Suppose the ball was dead and she attempted to return?
Should I have stoppped her?
Did she violate any rules?

Dakota Tue Apr 25, 2017 07:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MT 73 (Post 1005092)
Varsity softball. USA rule set
...Should I have stoppped her?
Did she violate any rules?

No and no.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MT 73 (Post 1005092)
... my partner who had wanted to call her out for running the bases in reverse....

:rolleyes:

IRISHMAFIA Tue Apr 25, 2017 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MT 73 (Post 1005092)
Varsity softball. USA rule set
I am the BU.
Batter strikes out with one out and runner on first .
Catcher drops the ball and batter takes off for 1B
Now we have runners at first and second when the PU informs the B/R that she is out on the strikeout.

How did he do that? Was play suspended?

Quote:

As I move towards the C position I see that R2 is walking back to first base since she thought that her advance was not legal.
Was the ball in the circle?
Quote:


"No, no", I tell her,"Go back to second, you can stay there"
Which she does.
I immediately realize my error and, between innings I confer with my partner who had wanted to call her out for running the bases in reverse.
Now, that would have been dumb

Quote:

I tell him I do not think you can do that but maybe she could have be called out for being off the base when the pitcher has the ball in the circle.
Anyway, suppose I had just kept quiet and allowed her to return to 1B?
:)
Quote:

Any violations?
Depends on the answers above
Quote:

Suppose the ball was dead and she attempted to return?
Should I have stoppped her?
If play was suspended, yes.

Quote:

Did she violate any rules?
Depends on the answers above

CecilOne Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:47am

My read of OP is live ball, not in circle, R1 safe at either base.

If ball reached pitcher in circle before R1 left a reached base, violation.

If ball reached pitcher after R1 left 2nd, one direction only for R1.

Manny A Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MT 73 (Post 1005092)
As I move towards the C position I see that R2 is walking back to first base since she thought that her advance was not legal.
"No, no", I tell her,"Go back to second, you can stay there"

Way to go, Coach! :p

MT 73 Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1005115)
Way to go, Coach! :p

Sometimes my coaching instincts get the better of me.
Have to watch that.
Later in the game the PU calls me over for a conference because the home team coach noticed--in the 3rd inning--that the numbers on the other team's line up card do not match the players and wants to know who to call out.
I ask both coaches if the players names are correct and they say yes.
I tell them to fix the numbers on the line up sheet because this does not quality as a BOO appeal.
Sounds right??

MT 73 Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 1005112)
My read of OP is live ball, not in circle, R1 safe at either base.

If ball reached pitcher in circle before R1 left a reached base, violation.

If ball reached pitcher after R1 left 2nd, one direction only for R1.

Sounds right but I have no idea who had what because I was moving into the C when this all happened.

CecilOne Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MT 73 (Post 1005119)
Sometimes my coaching instincts get the better of me.
Have to watch that.
Later in the game the PU calls me over for a conference because the home team coach noticed--in the 3rd inning--that the numbers on the other team's line up card do not match the players and wants to know who to call out.
I ask both coaches if the players names are correct and they say yes.
I tell them to fix the numbers on the line up sheet because this does not quality as a BOO appeal.
Sounds right??

Yes, names are the reality.
As you don't use NFHS, no penalty.

MT 73 Tue Apr 25, 2017 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 1005123)
Yes, names are the reality.
As you don't use NFHS, no penalty.

What would the penalty be in NHFS?

AtlUmpSteve Tue Apr 25, 2017 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MT 73 (Post 1005120)
Sounds right but I have no idea who had what because I was moving into the C when this all happened.

That's truly not a good reason to not know. It is not only possible, but actually a great practice to move on the field without ever not knowing the status of the ball. You should NEVER turn your back while the ball is live; because anything can still happen.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MT 73 (Post 1005126)
What would the penalty be in NHFS?

Team warning for an inaccurate lineup requiring correction; if a later instance occurs in that same game, the head coach is restricted to the bench.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1