![]() |
Does the run count
High school varsity game: Runners on 1 and 3, 1 out, long fly ball hit to left field, caught, runner on 3 tags and scores, LF throws ball in the infield, SS cuts ball off, runner on 1 ran to 2 and now realizes she didn't tag SS then throws to 1 and they tag runner for 3 out!! So does the run count???
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Quote:
So, the run counts. If the appeal was for a missed base that was a force or 1st; that would negate the run regardless of R1 scoring first. The play you describe is a "timing play"; meaning the scoring runner beating the play or not matters. |
Quote:
Have you really been lurking for 1 1/2 years? |
Quote:
Yes I have!!!! [emoji3][emoji3] Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
The season must be here!
Amazingly, this is the third time I've seen this question asked, on different forums, in the past two days. And not a season goes by where it doesn't come up at least a dozen times. I have a couple of thousand games under my belt and have never had this happen to me. But it did happen in the Cleveland Indians home opener last night! The umpires got it right, but after the play the Texas manager came out to argue that the run shouldn't count. So this one can even confuse the pros! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58am. |