The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   What's the Call? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/102510-whats-call.html)

Dakota Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1004232)
Dakota
Official Forum Member Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,013

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
I was just getting ready to post the same things. Well done. Seems you always beat me to it, even when we both take off massive amounts of time from the forum!


Ha ha... Cecil woke me up in the nick of time!

I think he at least acknowledged waking up. Daylight savings time may come a bit later where he's at.

I stick with tradition... it's ASA, and DST starts in April! :mad:

IRISHMAFIA Mon Apr 03, 2017 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dakota (Post 1004240)
i stick with tradition... It's asa, and dst starts in april! :mad:

ofkaa

wyoump Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hit4power (Post 1004022)
I'm not a blue, but here ya go...

Watching Texas Tech v Baylor... Batter swings through strike 3 but pitch bounces off F2's glove and on the ricochet hits the bat while still in the batter's hands and batter still in the box. The contact with the bat sends the ball down the first base line in foul territory and batter beats the throw to 1B. What's the call?

I am going to assume "on the ricochet" means the ball went from the catcher's glove to the bat. If that is the case, then the stipulations for D3k are not met, meaning the pitch it the bat a second time. Dead ball, strike. In this case, strike three, batter out.

A.R. 11-0: The batter swings and misses the pitch; however, on her follow through, the pitch contacts the bat and rolls into fair territory. RULING: Dead ball strike. Base runners must return to their bases at the time of the pitch. If contact is intentional, the batter is declared out.

Dropped Third Strike. 11-14-1 When with fewer than two outs and first base occupied, the catcher fails to catch a third strike before the ball touches the ground.

MD Longhorn Tue Apr 04, 2017 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wyoump (Post 1004382)
I am going to assume "on the ricochet" means the ball went from the catcher's glove to the bat. If that is the case, then the stipulations for D3k are not met, meaning the pitch it the bat a second time. Dead ball, strike. In this case, strike three, batter out.

A.R. 11-0: The batter swings and misses the pitch; however, on her follow through, the pitch contacts the bat and rolls into fair territory. RULING: Dead ball strike. Base runners must return to their bases at the time of the pitch. If contact is intentional, the batter is declared out.

Dropped Third Strike. 11-14-1 When with fewer than two outs and first base occupied, the catcher fails to catch a third strike before the ball touches the ground.

How are the stipulations not met? The ball was the 3rd strike and it was not caught by the catcher before it hit the ground.

This is not the same as AR 11-0, as the ball rebounded off the catcher and into the bat.

Manny A Wed Apr 05, 2017 11:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hit4power (Post 1004022)
I'm not a blue, but here ya go...

Watching Texas Tech v Baylor... Batter swings through strike 3 but pitch bounces off F2's glove and on the ricochet hits the bat while still in the batter's hands and batter still in the box. The contact with the bat sends the ball down the first base line in foul territory and batter beats the throw to 1B. What's the call?

NCAA Rule 11.14.3 seems to be appropriate here:

Quote:

11.14.3 The batter may not swing and miss a pitch and then accidentally hit it on the follow-through or after it bounces off the catcher or her glove/mitt.
EFFECT—The ball is dead. The pitch is a strike. The batter is declared out if the pitch was a third strike; otherwise, she remains at bat. Each base runner must return to the base legally occupied at the time of the pitch.
Seems to me they got the call right.

youngump Wed Apr 05, 2017 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 1004474)
NCAA Rule 11.14.3 seems to be appropriate here:



Seems to me they got the call right.

Is it relevant whether the ball hit bat or bat hit ball?

Manny A Thu Apr 06, 2017 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 1004501)
Is it relevant whether the ball hit bat or bat hit ball?

Yes. If the catcher fails to catch the third strike, and the ball moves forward into the BR or her bat, then the BR would not be guilty of interference.

But the way I read the OP, specifically the part where it says the bat "sends the ball down the first base line in foul territory", I'm envisioning a "bat hit ball" situation, and not the other way around.

It's really a HTBT to judge. Seems to me if the umpires got together, referred to the rule book, and still called the BR out, they must have felt that the bat contacted the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1