![]() |
Is it Fair of foul
Please excuse me if this has been discussed in the past.
Men's slow pitch, ASA rules, with double first base. Batter hit a ground ball in fair territory but is heading foul, then hits the orange base in foul territory and lands in fair territory. Is it fair or foul? |
Quote:
|
I do not know why but the title of this thread reminded me of the The Clash's hit: "Should I Stay, or Should I Go?"
MTD, Sr. |
Have to go back to definition of foul ball and fair ball. An exact description is needed to make an accurate ruling. Since you are saying a ground ball I assume it is a bounding ball. So it bounces in fair in front of 1B then hits the orange bag then comes back into fair territory past 1B. It would appear by FOUL BALL point C, once it touched the orange base (which is an object foreign to the natural ground)it is a foul ball.
FOUL BALL: A batted ball that: C. While over foul territory, touches the person, attached or detached equipment or clothing of a player or an umpire, or any object foreign to the natural ground. |
Dave gets a cookie for the correct answer
|
Quote:
If the batted ball crosses over any part of the white portion of the base it is a fair ball regardless of where it lands (1.Fair Ball.B) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In your statement, a bounding ball which hits fair behind 1B must be declared foul if it subsequently hits a stray hot dog wrapper of anything else. |
Quote:
And as an umpire, you shouldn't care less who is moaning about a legitimate call |
Quote:
|
Let's start cleanly.
The orange bag is in foul territory; and it isn't the natural ground. BUT, A bounding ball that starts fair CAN cross the fair white base and still touch the orange base; if it crosses the fair white base, it is a fair ball, NO MATTER WHERE IT LANDS, RIGHT?? See fair ball definition (B). Judgment call. Touching the orange bag (which is in foul territory, and is foreign to the natural ground, but both points are possibly immaterial) does not preclude it from also being a fair ball. |
Quote:
To get scientific about it...a ball bouncing FROM fair territory that does NOT hit the front of the orange base (which would be foul), but DOES bounce on the top of the orange, and has passed over some of the white. Is this fair? I say it is. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Where did it meet the qualifications for a fair ball? It went up the line and hit the colored part of the base. Foreign object in foul territory. What do you think made it fair? Foul all day. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
I sent the umpire that asked me this question to Rule 8, section 2, N 2 on page 95 of the 2016 ASA rule book.
It specifically states, that A batted ball hitting or bounding over the contrasting color portion is foul. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
In the rare situation where it bounced in such a way that it pretty much took a 90 degree angle and went over some of the white base before touching the orange base, I would call this fair because of the definition of Fair Ball, line B "Bounds over or past first or third base, which is in fair territory, regardless of where the ball hits after going over the base."
That is what most of you are saying and that's they way i was taught and interpret the book and definition of Fair Ball and how i would call it. But Rich Ives makes a point that in 8.7.N.2 it plainly states "A batted ball hitting or bounding over the contrasting color portion is foul." That line is the source of the controversy. Although if the ball went over the white base it should be called fair; that line in 8.7.N.2. does not allow for that situation. it simply says the ball is foul when it touches the contrasting color base. I would still call it fair. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
http://i.imgur.com/7JEQT0m.jpg Fair ball all day long if the orange bag is not in use, right? Does 8.7.N.2 have precedence over Rule 1? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
OK, so the controversy continues:
1. Youngump says "The rules have a contradiction but just ignore it." Who gets to make the decision to ignore a rule? How does that go over when you say to a coach we ignore that rule, but we enforce this other rule. 2. teebob21 says "Fair ball all day long if the orange bag is not in use, right? " I think most of the respondents are saying it is fair ball even if the contrasting base IS in use. There does seem to be a contradiction in the rules |
What does colored bag in use or not in use mean? It is either there or it is not there.
Hitting the spot on the bag or on bare ground if not there are only different by the "foreign object" definition. :confused: |
Quote:
My response was situational because the OP lacked specifics. |
Quote:
82N1 addresses the ball passing over or contacting the white portion. 82N2 addresses the ball passing over or contacting only the contrasting color portion. However, I agree the rules in 8.2.N could be worded better simply by adding the word "only" to 82N2 |
Quote:
|
Quote:
In a contrary instance, a few years ago in an MLB game, U3 called a bounding batted ball which landed fair behind the base a foul ball. He insisted the ball passed the base over foul territory. Wish I could find a video of it. As expected, the offense went crazy but the call stood. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
He later clarified that he meant safety base in place or not ("NCAA game: It's not in use. ASA JO game: Double base likely to be in use."), also no effect if ball strikes the same exact coordinates. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01pm. |