![]() |
Runner runs during strikeout celebration
R1 on 2nd, less than two (2) outs. Third strike is called on the batter. Ball is returned to pitcher in the circle. Infielders rush to the pitcher for congratulations. R1 runs to 3rd. Is R1 out on Look Back?
|
If the pitcher is in possession of the ball and for ASA in control of the ball within the circle, isnt the lookback rule in effect? You have answered your own question in the description of your play.
|
Runner runs during strikeout celebration
Indeed I have. But, for some reason, it seems the defense is somehow rewarded for leaving their posts.
|
Not sure I would call it rewarded as much as just dumb base running. You can't leave a base when the pitcher has the ball in the circle.
|
Quote:
|
Let's assume R1 took her lead with the pitch off the base and is stationary when the ball returns to the circle. If her next move is immediately to 3rd she is safe, correct?
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44pm. |