The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2016, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Tell him "yes", and you'll still be ejecting the OC (when the DC tells F2 "tag her anyway, just to make sure", and you say "out!").
This better not happen. If the coach is on the field time out should have been called. Tagging a runner is a live ball appeal process, so if F2 tags someone during a dead ball appeal and the umpire says "out!"...

That's just wrong on many levels.

I don't do NCAA, but I'm clear that this is one of those subtle differences between ASA (coach cannot appeal during a dead ball) and NFHS (coach can appeal during a dead ball).

After time out is called:
Coach: "Blue, did she touch the plate?"
Me: "Coach, you'll need to appeal to find out."

There's no penalty for an appeal. Once S/he goes back to the dugout and (depending upon sanction) a proper appeal is made, I'll rule on it.

Sheesh!
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Base Awarded? pruett3 Baseball 2 Thu May 27, 2010 09:41am
Batter awarded 1st base? hawk65 Softball 50 Wed Mar 11, 2009 10:18am
Is awarded base mandatory? hawk65 Softball 2 Tue May 01, 2007 01:10pm
FED: Passing an awarded base ctblu40 Baseball 15 Thu Feb 08, 2007 06:31pm
which base awarded on this obstruction? shipwreck Softball 6 Sun Oct 05, 2003 10:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1