The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Defensive Obstruction? NFHS (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/101200-defensive-obstruction-nfhs.html)

CecilOne Thu Mar 31, 2016 09:49am

Is there an aspect as to what actually constitutes hindering/impeding the runner? IOW, if the R or BR was a easy out, did the OBS actually hinder or impede? :(

Tru_in_Blu Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:41am

I'd say being hindered or impeded has no time element associated with it. If you were impeded on a sidewalk it could have been an honest bump or you might have had your pocket picked. Maybe it was some rude person looking at their cell phone instead of where they were walking.

We've had a couple of our most knowledgeable umpires suggest that if we have a dead to rights force play for an out, take the out and "award the runner a spot on the bench".

Emotionally, and half-logically that might make sense. However, unless there is a rule citation to support that position, I have to call the OBS and award a base.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Apr 01, 2016 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 985656)
Is there an aspect as to what actually constitutes hindering/impeding the runner? IOW, if the R or BR was a easy out, did the OBS actually hinder or impede? :(

Then there is the case of a runner leaving 2b on a shallow fly ball to CF who runs into F5 and is knocked down moving away from 2b as s/he was beiing doubled off via a live ball appeal. If F5 recovered and started back to 2b, was s/he obstructed by F5 or actually aided?

I don't believe anyone is claiming the rules shouldn't be enforced as written, but as CecilOne points out, was the player actually impeded, hindered or whatever?

CecilOne Fri Apr 01, 2016 10:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 985687)
Then there is the case of a runner leaving 2b on a shallow fly ball to CF who runs into F5 and is knocked down moving away from 2b as s/he was beiing doubled off via a live ball appeal. If F5 recovered and started back to 2b, was s/he obstructed by F5 or actually aided?

I don't believe anyone is claiming the rules shouldn't be enforced as written, but as CecilOne points out, was the player actually impeded, hindered or whatever?

Oh sure, answer a question with a question. :p :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1