The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   OBS at plate (NCAA) (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/101114-obs-plate-ncaa.html)

teebob21 Wed Mar 16, 2016 11:42pm

OBS at plate (NCAA)
 
R1 on 3B, R2 on 1B. 1 out.

Ball hit on the ground to F1, both runners moving on the swing. F1 throws to F2. R1 slides and makes contact with F2 short of the plate, and F2 catches the ball and applies the tag. As this happens, R2 rounds 2B and is headed to 3B. I know this is a HTBT situation, but under the new rule, this is an easy OBS call, right? Last year, this was probably legal under "about to receive".

Signal DDB, call obstruction, call Dead Ball, award R1 home, R2 3B, and BR 1B. <-- This is what I did, prior to a spirited conversation with the defensive coach. Any comments/feedback?

jmkupka Thu Mar 17, 2016 08:42am

Like you say, HTBT, but the fact that she's sliding short of the plate (due to F2's positioning) makes it a little easier for the umpire who Had To Be There :)

Andy Thu Mar 17, 2016 10:18am

The OBS call sounds fairly straightforward.

My question would be on the award of third to R2. Was she close enough to third to get there before a throw from F2 would have more than likely put her out? Your description notes that R2 was just rounding second as the play at the plate happened....Again, this is all HTBT, but from the description, I don't see an award of third base.

teebob21 Thu Mar 17, 2016 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 984407)
The OBS call sounds fairly straightforward.

My question would be on the award of third to R2. Was she close enough to third to get there before a throw from F2 would have more than likely put her out? Your description notes that R2 was just rounding second as the play at the plate happened....Again, this is all HTBT, but from the description, I don't see an award of third base.

Based on the "wreck" at home resulting in tangled players, had the tag been legal for an out, I do not believe that F2 had an opportunity to make a play of any kind, and R2 would have reached 3B standing up.

youngump Thu Mar 17, 2016 04:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 984439)
Based on the "wreck" at home resulting in tangled players, had the tag been legal for an out, I do not believe that F2 had an opportunity to make a play of any kind, and R2 would have reached 3B standing up.

If F2 didn't have time to throw to third would she have had time to throw to 2nd?

teebob21 Thu Mar 17, 2016 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 984445)
If F2 didn't have time to throw to third would she have had time to throw to 2nd?

Probably not, but the ball was dead before the BR reached 1B. I don't think we could have reasonably judged that the BR would have reached 2B.

CecilOne Thu Mar 17, 2016 06:22pm

Looks like good work to me. :cool:

Umpire@1 Thu Mar 17, 2016 09:31pm

As I understand and from the interpretation I was given, you had obstruction. Good call. As for where you place the runner, as you stated HTBT.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Mar 18, 2016 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 984439)
Based on the "wreck" at home resulting in tangled players, had the tag been legal for an out, I do not believe that F2 had an opportunity to make a play of any kind, and R2 would have reached 3B standing up.

IMO, too much supposition here. You can "what if" any play until you come up with the desired result. For that reason, I return to the interpretations from the past and hold the runner at 2nd UNLESS at the time of the tag, the runner was advancing and half or nearly half way to 3rd base at the time of the tag.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1