![]() |
Whats you call ASA, NFHS and NCAA
R1 on 2nd B2 at bat. Pitcher throws an Illegal pitch that the batter tries to hold up on but hits it towards SS R1 Maliciously runs over the SS fielding the ball.
Whats your call and what rules do you use to support your call? |
Quote:
After consulting with MTD, Jr., here are your rulings. ASA: The Illegal Pitch (IP) is a Delayed Dead Ball (DDB). R1's Crash against F6 is Interference. R2's Crash/Interference causes the Ball to become Dead immediately. R1 is out because of the Interference and is ejected because of the Crash, and B2 is awarded 1B on a Fielder's Choice. But since F1's IP to B2 is a DDB, and R1 did not advance at least one base, the Offense has the option of taking the IP Penalty which is R1 is ejected, R1's out is recinded, R1's substitute is placed on 2B, and a Ball is awarded to B2. NFHS and NCAA: The ruling is the same as ASA with one exception. If the Offense takes the IP Penalty, R1's substitute is awarded 3B. MTD, Sr. |
Nfhs case play 8-6-14 sit b indicates the malicious contact takes precedence and the runner would still be out regardless. Both the illegal pitch and the malicious contact penalties would be enforced.
|
Quote:
If the SS makes the play anyway and gets B2 out; then - B2 gets a ball in the count and finishes batting - the R1 out is removed, but a sub is needed to run for R1 at 2nd, then awarded 3rd. If B2 is safe, B2 stays safe, and a sub is needed to run for R1 at 2nd, then awarded 3rd. No guarantee for NCAA, but whatever rules I am working. |
Quote:
You may still choose to eject, but not because of a "crash." |
Quote:
There is no R2 and no second "crash". The eject/DQ is for "maliciously". If the IP Penalty is applied, the R1 sub is awarded 3rd. |
Quote:
I don't care which ruleset (and believe there is more to be said to each), but the DDB on the IP has to end when the runner commits interference. As to the rest, here's some thoughts to consider with each ruleset. Does/should the option to enforce the IP rather than the result of the play erase a malicious act along with the rest of the play? Does interference supercede an IP (like it does obstruction)? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I should have stayed with face value and not try to overthink. That means B2 can't be safe and B2 would get a ball in the count and finishes batting if IP penalty stays. But, the INT penalty awards B2 1st base, so the IP is ignored. |
Quote:
|
Fed*8.6.14 SITUATION B:
With R1 on second base and R2 on first base, F1 throws an illegal pitch; B3 hits ground ball to F4 who is attempting to field the ball. R2 maliciously contacts F4. RULING: Interference does not supersede illegal pitch. Umpire(s) signal delayed dead ball for illegal pitch and then immediate dead ball for the malicious contact. R2 is out for malicious contact. The offense’s team coach is given the option of the result of the play or the penalty for the illegal pitch. If the coach selects the result of the play, R1 is returned to second, R2 is out and B3 is awarded first base. If the coach selects the penalty for the illegal pitch, R1 is awarded third base, R2 is out for malicious contact, B3 is returned to the plate, awarded a ball and if the ball is ball four, is awarded first base. COMMENT: Because malicious contact will always supersede any other illegal action, both malicious contact and illegal pitch penalties are enforced in this situation. (5-1-1e; 8-6-10) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
We bad! I was typing and Mark, Jr., was reading the ASA Rules Book and I didn't hear him correctly (my hearing is bad as my eyesight, :p). I am going to bed now and will go back and re-edit my original post in the morning. MTD, Sr. |
Why would it need to be taken up with the NFHS rules committee? There is a case play that covers the exact situation and in NFHS the runner is not awarded 3rd, they are out. Malicious contact in NFHS is always an out if committed by an offensive player, and an ejection by any player who commits malicious contact.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Every situation cannot be covered in the rule book, that is why there are case plays and clarifications published. And since when do we ever rule different of what a published case play states, regardless of what we feel the rule book justifies?
|
|
Quote:
"Play: R1 on 2B, R2 on 1B, 2 outs and B5 at Bat with no count. F1 delivers an illegal pitch. B5 hits a ground ball to F6. As F-6 is attempting to make a play on the batted ball, R1 lowers their shoulder and plows into F-6, driving them to the ground. The umpires call time and interference and call R1 out and since this is the third out end the ˝ inning." |
Quote:
You would think they would have learned after the "inning ending home run" wording fiasco |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17pm. |