The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Soccer

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2003, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Would like an experienced, certified soccer official's opinion on this rule.
Rule 14 Penalty Kick: Art. 4: "Once the kicker starts his/her approach toward the ball, he/she may not interrupt his/her movement. Failure to kick the ball as specified shall result in a rekick"
The literal intrepretation is the mere act of a stutter step or not a clean, smooth movement to the ball will be a rekick, regardless of the outcome, i.e. goal or no goal (keeper stops or sails over the bar or wide).
In the situations section, page 67, 14.1.4.B. "A1 taking a penalty kick, approaches the ball and then stops abruptly. He/she then kicks the ball and scores. Ruling: Retake the kick."
It is silent on if he/she makes the stutter step, then kicks the ball and does not score (keeper stops or sails over the bar or wide). Question: in this case is there still a rekick or is this kicker's turn over and marked as a miss?
Thanks,
Jim
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1