The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Search Forums

Showing results 1 to 25 of 500
Search took 0.02 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: jmkupka
Forum: Softball Mon Mar 23, 2020, 02:16pm
Replies: 17
Views: 796
Posted By jmkupka
If the runner is in the running lane, she wont be...

If the runner is in the running lane, she wont be called for INT (unless she intentionally interferes), regardless of the quality of the throw or positioning of the fielder.

If she's out of the...
Forum: Softball Mon Mar 02, 2020, 09:39am
Replies: 17
Views: 796
Posted By jmkupka
Dont have my USA book handy, but with the...

Dont have my USA book handy, but with the double-base, I'd be surprised to see that comment in the rule...
Forum: Softball Thu Feb 27, 2020, 11:10am
Replies: 11
Views: 543
Posted By jmkupka
Sorry for the late response, but Steve, does your...

Sorry for the late response, but Steve, does your comment mean you agree with my premise regarding contacting the fair batted ball (ball and batter completely in the BB), even in NCAA ball?

Of...
Forum: Softball Tue Feb 25, 2020, 03:30pm
Replies: 4
Views: 398
Posted By jmkupka
If/int

R1 on 2; R2 on 2B with 1 out, B3 hits a
high pop up near first base line in the infield. Infield fly is called.
As F3 is about to catch the infield fly, R2 runs into F3. The ball lands in
fair...
Forum: Softball Tue Feb 18, 2020, 03:01pm
Replies: 17
Views: 796
Posted By jmkupka
I must be seeing this completely wrong... doesn't...

I must be seeing this completely wrong... doesn't look to me that she was ever in the running lane. I agree with your take on the 2nd vid...
Forum: Softball Tue Feb 18, 2020, 10:08am
Replies: 17
Views: 796
Posted By jmkupka
Running lane violation

Can I get your opinion on this video (1st play):

https://www.brainshark.com/arbitersports/18SUPTwoPlaysCollisionNotRev

It is indicated that neither player did anything wrong, so no call. It is...
Forum: Softball Thu Feb 13, 2020, 02:17pm
Replies: 11
Views: 543
Posted By jmkupka
I dont think so... it's laying stationary in fair...

I dont think so... it's laying stationary in fair territory...if the batter doesn't bump it on the way to 1B, it's a fair ball that can be fielded by F2 to fire wherever; if the batter does bump it,...
Forum: Softball Thu Feb 13, 2020, 11:50am
Replies: 11
Views: 543
Posted By jmkupka
Batter bunts the ball down, into the soft powder,...

Batter bunts the ball down, into the soft powder, up in the front corner of the BB, where it comes to a stop (completely in the box, completely in fair territory).

After hesitating, batter...
Forum: Softball Mon Feb 03, 2020, 02:08pm
Replies: 20
Views: 973
Posted By jmkupka
Thank you Steve for the explanation. Just...

Thank you Steve for the explanation. Just attended our NCCA clinic, where this was discussed and clarified, until almost the very end, when one of the final points was,

Pitcher is on the PP, hands...
Forum: Softball Fri Jan 17, 2020, 12:41pm
Replies: 20
Views: 973
Posted By jmkupka
NCAA Armband rule clarification

1/15/2020
10/21/2019
10.2.2 While in the pitching position and taking the signal, the
pitcher must take or appear to take a signal. The signal need not
come from the catcher.
Clarification 1:...
Forum: Softball Mon Nov 11, 2019, 03:27pm
Replies: 3
Views: 358
Posted By jmkupka
INT on an IF

IF situation. R1 fron 2B collides with F6 (camped out under the fly ball). INT called at the time of collision. If F6 somehow recovers and makes the catch, we still have both outs, correct?

NCAA...
Forum: Softball Wed Oct 30, 2019, 01:28pm
Replies: 3
Views: 332
Posted By jmkupka
Thank you. the announcer (don't know who it was),...

Thank you. the announcer (don't know who it was), really really wanted to side with the Nationals on this, and just couldn't bring himself to say outright that the PU got it right.
Forum: Softball Wed Oct 30, 2019, 09:20am
Replies: 3
Views: 332
Posted By jmkupka
WS: Out of the Running Lane

I know we don't discuss the other sport here, but any comments about the last night's call (besides A-Rod's an idiot)?

https://youtu.be/vos0zr_KkNQ
Forum: Softball Tue Oct 29, 2019, 10:19am
Replies: 6
Views: 288
Posted By jmkupka
This Clarification 1 is accurate if the action...

This Clarification 1 is accurate if the action ends there. But it does not end there. For some unexplainable reason, they don't continue the logical progression in the clarification to where F1 steps...
Forum: Softball Mon Oct 07, 2019, 02:45pm
Replies: 5
Views: 370
Posted By jmkupka
So, ball in circle, B/R rounds 1B, halfway to 2B...

So, ball in circle, B/R rounds 1B, halfway to 2B takes her one allotted stop, advances non-stop to 2B, rounds it and stops, she is immediately out, correct?
Forum: Softball Mon Oct 07, 2019, 09:05am
Replies: 5
Views: 370
Posted By jmkupka
1:25 finish the batter

I stopped announcing "last batter" 2 years ago when a pitcher, who was hitting her spots all day, plugged the batter in the shoulder on the next pitch.

One time recently, we announced "that's game...
Forum: Softball Fri Sep 27, 2019, 09:16pm
Replies: 13
D3k
Views: 583
Posted By jmkupka
the crux of my question is, regarding the INT...

the crux of my question is, regarding the INT rule that states a runner can't step back away from 1B, does the rule include 1B extended beyond home plate.

If yes, then in the OP, it's a dead ball...
Forum: Softball Mon Sep 23, 2019, 03:06pm
Replies: 3
Views: 268
Posted By jmkupka
and F6 was playing up the middle...

and F6 was playing up the middle...
Forum: Softball Mon Sep 23, 2019, 08:27am
Replies: 3
Views: 268
Posted By jmkupka
INT or OBS

R1 on 2B, off on the pitch, collides with F6 before the ball is hit directly at F6. What's the call?
Forum: Softball Tue Sep 17, 2019, 02:48pm
Replies: 36
Views: 1,726
Posted By jmkupka
my comment was obviously intended to be...

my comment was obviously intended to be tongue-in-cheek, but also to equate the looking at the armband with looking in the dugout, looking at the catcher, looking at whatever (all within the allowed...
Forum: Softball Tue Sep 17, 2019, 08:28am
Replies: 36
Views: 1,726
Posted By jmkupka
Insanity. Who's to say she's not looking at her...

Insanity. Who's to say she's not looking at her favorite freckle? There's no rule against it. Just no quick pitch once they step on the PP.
Forum: Softball Sat Sep 14, 2019, 04:38pm
Replies: 36
Views: 1,726
Posted By jmkupka
Just bad information. If F1 is in the back...

Just bad information.

If F1 is in the back of the circle looking at her arm band and I call IP, DC will protest that ruling, and DC will prevail.

F1 can take all the signals she wants, from...
Forum: Softball Fri Sep 13, 2019, 12:36pm
Replies: 13
D3k
Views: 583
Posted By jmkupka
More of a reflex reaction to the tag attempt (and...

More of a reflex reaction to the tag attempt (and not turning away to return to the 3B dugout). My concern was more about returning the runner to 2B.
Forum: Softball Fri Sep 13, 2019, 08:58am
Replies: 13
D3k
Views: 583
Posted By jmkupka
A batter could step back (1 step) away from F2,...

A batter could step back (1 step) away from F2, and not be considered out of the basepath, but that 1 step back from a B/R further up the line would be enough for an INT call.

Guess my question...
Forum: Softball Wed Sep 11, 2019, 12:53pm
Replies: 13
D3k
Views: 583
Posted By jmkupka
D3k

RH batter, D3K, batter likely not going to try for 1B, but reflexively steps backward (out of the BB) as F2 tries to put the tag on her. R1 on 2B breaking for 3B.

Does this equate to a typical...
Showing results 1 to 25 of 500

 
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1