The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Search Forums

Showing results 1 to 25 of 279
Search took 0.01 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: Crabby_Bob
Forum: Softball Wed Oct 19, 2022, 02:08pm
Replies: 12
Views: 541
Posted By Crabby_Bob
No. None of the current Rule 10 case plays (USA...

No. None of the current Rule 10 case plays (USA and Fed) cover changing a foul ball to fair. NCAA allows changing a foul ball to fair for dead ball base awards only.
Forum: Softball Tue Jul 19, 2022, 01:26pm
Replies: 5
Views: 397
Posted By Crabby_Bob
NFHS thinks it's a stepping stone to college; it...

NFHS thinks it's a stepping stone to college; it will change when NCAA changes.
Forum: Softball Fri Jun 17, 2022, 04:05pm
Replies: 7
Views: 385
Posted By Crabby_Bob
And many of the umpires in recent D1 postseason...

And many of the umpires in recent D1 postseason play.
Forum: Softball Sat May 28, 2022, 11:37pm
Replies: 8
Views: 423
Posted By Crabby_Bob
The announcers are woefully f.o.s., as usual.

The announcers are woefully f.o.s., as usual.
Forum: Softball Fri Apr 08, 2022, 08:10pm
Replies: 7
Views: 384
Posted By Crabby_Bob
Yes, I misread CB 9.1.1D ("not" after a line...

Yes, I misread CB 9.1.1D ("not" after a line break and under the heading of "Run Scores".) This is a timing play.
I will fix my previous post. Thank you.
Forum: Softball Thu Apr 07, 2022, 12:18pm
Replies: 7
Views: 384
Posted By Crabby_Bob
Agree that this is a timing play despite a...

Agree that this is a timing play despite a homerun being an award.
Rule 8-6-4, 9-1-1, 9-1-1e, Casebook 9.1.1 Situation P
Casebook 9.1.1 Situation D contradicts in the case of a base on balls award....
Forum: Softball Sun Mar 20, 2022, 12:04pm
Replies: 9
Views: 406
Posted By Crabby_Bob
Which is incomplete for BASEBALL. OBR: If the BR...

Which is incomplete for BASEBALL. OBR: If the BR has reached first base at the time of the throw, the award is two bases from the time of the throw.

Let there be no confusion. In SOFTBALL, the...
Forum: Softball Sat Mar 19, 2022, 02:23pm
Replies: 9
Views: 406
Posted By Crabby_Bob
Aside from the "FU" misstating the rule and...

Aside from the "FU" misstating the rule and setting grounds for a protest, he probably just doesn't know if R1 had touched 2nd at the time of the throw. Runner placement is judgment but the coach...
Forum: Softball Sun Mar 13, 2022, 01:01pm
Replies: 15
Views: 885
Posted By Crabby_Bob
This illustrates how the same object is treated...

This illustrates how the same object is treated differently based upon circumstances. How about a batted ball that strikes a bat in fair or foul territory?

NFHS's rule for an on-deck batter...
Forum: Softball Fri Mar 04, 2022, 02:03pm
Replies: 15
Views: 885
Posted By Crabby_Bob
I don't think so. The statement above completely...

I don't think so. The statement above completely disregards the proximity of the base coach to the action, all of it: the base, fielders, runners, and a throw. It is his JOB to direct the runners. ...
Forum: Softball Thu Mar 03, 2022, 04:09pm
Replies: 15
Views: 885
Posted By Crabby_Bob
Here's the entire 8-6-16b: Any coach or...

Here's the entire 8-6-16b:

Any coach or member of the offensive team, other than a runner, interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play. This includes, but is not limited to: ...
Forum: Softball Thu Mar 03, 2022, 11:17am
Replies: 15
Views: 885
Posted By Crabby_Bob
Are you equating a base coach to an on-deck...

Are you equating a base coach to an on-deck batter?
Forum: Softball Wed Mar 02, 2022, 03:24pm
Replies: 15
Views: 885
Posted By Crabby_Bob
Interfere with a thrown ball. On-deck batter...

Interfere with a thrown ball. On-deck batter doesn't have the same rights as a runner. OP states that there was no play so put runners back to the last base touched.
Forum: Softball Wed Mar 02, 2022, 01:30am
Replies: 15
Views: 885
Posted By Crabby_Bob
It is interference and the ball should be...

It is interference and the ball should be declared dead. Have a look at Penalty 1.
Forum: Softball Fri Feb 25, 2022, 12:50am
Replies: 11
Views: 442
Posted By Crabby_Bob
No, a tag is necessary. Overruled by whom? What...

No, a tag is necessary. Overruled by whom? What rule book?
Forum: Softball Tue Nov 02, 2021, 03:11pm
Replies: 6
Views: 394
Posted By Crabby_Bob
Neat. Author's opinion. FTFA... Another...

Neat. Author's opinion. FTFA...

Another requirement that triggers the rule is the “origin” of the throw. Although that is not specifically addressed in the rules, it is understood the throw must...
Forum: Softball Mon Nov 01, 2021, 08:41pm
Replies: 6
Views: 394
Posted By Crabby_Bob
Where does it say that? :confused:;)

Where does it say that? :confused:;)
Forum: Softball Sun Oct 10, 2021, 10:06am
Replies: 10
Views: 794
Posted By Crabby_Bob
Another reason to get rid of the Fed/MLB...

Another reason to get rid of the Fed/MLB intentional walk. Offense and defense doing their job.
Forum: Softball Tue Aug 31, 2021, 02:54am
Replies: 10
Views: 794
Posted By Crabby_Bob
Another reason to get rid of the Fed intentional...

Another reason to get rid of the Fed intentional walk.
Forum: Softball Tue Jun 29, 2021, 06:15pm
Replies: 10
Views: 849
Posted By Crabby_Bob
NCAA rules and interpretations here...

NCAA rules and interpretations here (https://www.ncaa.org/playing-rules/softball-rules-game).

Like Manny, I don't know of another organization that treats leaving early as a delayed dead ball or...
Forum: Softball Sat Jun 05, 2021, 02:42pm
Replies: 10
Views: 849
Posted By Crabby_Bob
The effect of 8-6-18 is that the ball is dead. ...

The effect of 8-6-18 is that the ball is dead. One runner must have left before the other therefore only one is out. It's your job to decide which.
Forum: Softball Thu May 13, 2021, 01:19pm
Replies: 1
Views: 335
Posted By Crabby_Bob
Probably 2006. (ETA: It was 2006. See below.) ...

Probably 2006. (ETA: It was 2006. See below.)

In 2005, mitts allowed for catchers and first basemen.
In 2007, mitts allowed for all defensive players but the wording is not highlighted.

ETA:...
Forum: Softball Thu May 13, 2021, 01:13pm
Replies: 5
Views: 484
Posted By Crabby_Bob
Correct. OP asked "about a thrown bat by the...

Correct. OP asked "about a thrown bat by the batter" with no further qualification.
Forum: Softball Fri May 07, 2021, 08:33pm
Replies: 5
Views: 484
Posted By Crabby_Bob
also 7-4-14.

also 7-4-14.
Forum: Softball Sat May 01, 2021, 02:40pm
Replies: 6
Views: 630
Posted By Crabby_Bob
I think he answered the question. :D

I think he answered the question. :D
Showing results 1 to 25 of 279

 
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1