The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Search Forums

Showing results 1 to 25 of 500
Search took 0.03 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: RKBUmp
Forum: Softball Wed May 27, 2020, 06:19am
Replies: 1
Views: 190
Posted By RKBUmp
Sounds like basically the same ruling as USA,...

Sounds like basically the same ruling as USA, although the USA case play states the kicked ball is treated the same as a thrown ball into dead ball territory.
Forum: Softball Mon May 11, 2020, 06:31am
Replies: 23
Views: 1,354
Posted By RKBUmp
That is not what you stated in your initial...

That is not what you stated in your initial comment. You said the runner is considered to have touched the base and the run would score.

I was not addressing nor did you address that it was a...
Forum: Softball Sun May 10, 2020, 06:54pm
Replies: 23
Views: 1,354
Posted By RKBUmp
That is incorrect. The batter/runner is assumed...

That is incorrect. The batter/runner is assumed to have touched the base until properly appealed. If the defense appeals the miss of first prior to the batter/runner returning to the base then they...
Forum: Softball Wed Apr 29, 2020, 03:54pm
Replies: 23
Views: 1,354
Posted By RKBUmp
There must be an available play in order to have...

There must be an available play in order to have interference. If the BR had already reached 1st base at the time of the interference then there was no available play.
Forum: Softball Sun Mar 22, 2020, 06:51pm
Replies: 9
Views: 468
Posted By RKBUmp
Because once a pitch was thrown to Abel, that...

Because once a pitch was thrown to Abel, that made Charles's at bat legal and Daniel should have been the proper batter. After Able had completed their at bat and a pitch was thrown to Baker, that...
Forum: Softball Wed Mar 11, 2020, 07:46pm
Replies: 4
Views: 443
Posted By RKBUmp
USA does not have malicious contact, it would go...

USA does not have malicious contact, it would go under unsportsmanlike conduct. USA also does not have provisions for calling an out for unsportsmanlike conduct, it would simply be an ejection.
Forum: Softball Wed Feb 26, 2020, 06:08am
Replies: 4
Views: 461
Posted By RKBUmp
The status of the ball, fair/foul is determined...

The status of the ball, fair/foul is determined by the balls position at the time of the interference/dead ball call. If it is over fair territory, it is a fair ball and still and infield fly. Both...
Forum: Softball Sat Dec 07, 2019, 08:23am
Replies: 24
Views: 1,366
Posted By RKBUmp
Every rule set except NFHS moved away from the...

Every rule set except NFHS moved away from the step back years and years ago, why in the world would USA move back to it??????
Forum: Softball Mon Nov 11, 2019, 04:10pm
Replies: 3
Views: 408
Posted By RKBUmp
Doesn't matter if F6 recovered and caught the...

Doesn't matter if F6 recovered and caught the ball or not. Infield fly, batter is out and you have a runner interfering with F6, immediate dead ball and runner is out for interference.
Forum: Softball Wed Sep 11, 2019, 05:37pm
Replies: 13
D3k
Views: 633
Posted By RKBUmp
That rule only applies when a play attempt is...

That rule only applies when a play attempt is being made on the batter runner and they step back to delay or prevent a tag.
Forum: Softball Fri Sep 06, 2019, 05:38pm
Replies: 3
Views: 466
Posted By RKBUmp
On another softball forum there was a video...

On another softball forum there was a video posted a few days ago from a disgruntled parent that had lost a game by 1 run. Video was of a pitcher in super slow motion and they were complaining the...
Forum: Softball Thu Aug 15, 2019, 08:41pm
Replies: 10
Views: 508
Posted By RKBUmp
The ODB is not always restricted to the on deck...

The ODB is not always restricted to the on deck circle, they are allowed to leave it in certain situations. The media was never suppose to be outside the area. And when there was a media area...
Forum: Softball Thu Aug 15, 2019, 06:12am
Replies: 10
Views: 508
Posted By RKBUmp
Media was allowed to be in designated media...

Media was allowed to be in designated media areas, they were never allowed to be outside that area on the field of play.
Forum: Softball Wed Aug 14, 2019, 11:53am
Replies: 10
Views: 508
Posted By RKBUmp
Nfhs has a case play regarding an errant throw...

Nfhs has a case play regarding an errant throw that hits a photographer outside a media area and the ball remains live. So, a photographer is most certainly a person not engaged in the game, and if...
Forum: Softball Thu Aug 01, 2019, 12:32pm
Replies: 12
Views: 642
Posted By RKBUmp
I'm pretty sure most rulesets have wording in...

I'm pretty sure most rulesets have wording in them about what discarded equipment is allowed to be on the field without penalty and they are the batter's discarded bat and the catchers discarded...
Forum: Softball Tue Jul 23, 2019, 01:19pm
Replies: 23
Views: 732
Posted By RKBUmp
My recollection of the NCAA new ruling on...

My recollection of the NCAA new ruling on obstruction about a fielder being in the basepath without the ball is where that language came from. The new rule makes it automatically obstruction for a...
Forum: Softball Tue Jul 23, 2019, 12:03pm
Replies: 23
Views: 732
Posted By RKBUmp
That in his opinion if the runner would not have...

That in his opinion if the runner would not have been safe anyway the obstruction is not called. Nowhere in the rules or case plays does it give any kind of indication that is the case. If the...
Forum: Softball Tue Jul 23, 2019, 11:46am
Replies: 23
Views: 732
Posted By RKBUmp
If I were the coach and came out to question the...

If I were the coach and came out to question the non call in the OP and the calling umpire gave me that response I would immediately file a protest. Nowhere in the obstruction rule does it have any...
Forum: Softball Tue Jul 23, 2019, 06:45am
Replies: 23
Views: 732
Posted By RKBUmp
I think there is a case play in NFHS that is very...

I think there is a case play in NFHS that is very similar, ground ball to F6 who throws to F5 for the force, but grabs the runner as she goes by. Ruling is obstruction and the runner is awarded 3rd...
Forum: Softball Tue Jul 23, 2019, 06:37am
Replies: 23
Views: 732
Posted By RKBUmp
Im on vacation and don't have access to my case...

Im on vacation and don't have access to my case books but I know somewhere there is a case play as I mentioned earlier. As I said, Im not sure about NCAA but there is no option in any other ruleset...
Forum: Softball Mon Jul 22, 2019, 03:17pm
Replies: 23
Views: 732
Posted By RKBUmp
Have no idea about NCAA, but any other ruleset it...

Have no idea about NCAA, but any other ruleset it is obstruction and Im pretty sure there are case plays with that exact situation.
Forum: Softball Wed May 29, 2019, 03:21pm
Replies: 20
Views: 882
Posted By RKBUmp
This statement is not necessarily true. The...

This statement is not necessarily true. The obstruction rule states the obstructed runner and all other runner affected by the obstruction shall be awarded the base or bases they would have reached...
Forum: Softball Sat May 25, 2019, 05:41pm
Replies: 1
Views: 377
Posted By RKBUmp
Once the runner legally scored, which she did...

Once the runner legally scored, which she did because the ball was uncaught and there was no possible appeal on her she cannot unscore herself. The only question you have to answer now was now that...
Forum: Softball Thu May 16, 2019, 05:30pm
Replies: 2
Views: 415
Posted By RKBUmp
The rule makes no distinction about a...

The rule makes no distinction about a batter/runner being in or out of the box if they are the ones that initiate the contact with the ball. If the batter runner contacts a fair batted ball they are...
Forum: Softball Fri May 10, 2019, 04:15pm
Replies: 14
Views: 483
Posted By RKBUmp
That's what I was always taught when you have 2...

That's what I was always taught when you have 2 runners. Move straight in and then if there is a play move towards the play.
Showing results 1 to 25 of 500

 
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1