The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Search Forums

Showing results 1 to 25 of 500
Search took 0.02 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: Big Slick
Forum: Softball Today, 01:11pm
Replies: 10
Views: 89
Posted By Big Slick
But the big question: Is the pitcher charged with...

But the big question: Is the pitcher charged with a pitch?

Extra note: I think when the "no pitch intentional walk" was first instituted, the pitcher was still charged with 4 pitches. Is that...
Forum: Softball Fri Jul 12, 2019, 09:42am
Replies: 21
Views: 754
Posted By Big Slick
I stand corrected. And it seems silly that by...

I stand corrected. And it seems silly that by (previous) definition that bats were legal or illegal, then having two tiers of illegal under 7 4 2 but not under the definitions (I know they mention...
Forum: Softball Thu Jul 11, 2019, 08:34am
Replies: 21
Views: 754
Posted By Big Slick
If it was played in 2019 or earlier, the Illegal...

If it was played in 2019 or earlier, the Illegal bat penalty is ejection of player and coach.

I personally like the rule change, for this reason.
Forum: Softball Mon Jul 01, 2019, 03:14pm
Replies: 54
Views: 1,489
Posted By Big Slick
Please read the USA Softball clarifications, and...

Please read the USA Softball clarifications, and you will see that you are incorrect in #2 (and I do appreciate the compliment, and that you liked my Law and Order reference).



More so, the...
Forum: Softball Wed Jun 26, 2019, 03:55pm
Replies: 54
Views: 1,489
Posted By Big Slick
Thanks Dave. :D My observations: ...

Thanks Dave.

:D

My observations:
The second play (runner interference), why would we need the Infield fly rule, when 8 7 J F covers the runner interference on either a fair or foul ball...
Forum: Softball Wed Jun 26, 2019, 03:39pm
Replies: 10
Views: 340
Posted By Big Slick
This must be "new" because I have never heard...

This must be "new" because I have never heard anything close to this. Maybe after a hard tag with no other action, but not during a live ball.

Is there a reference in the CAA manual?
(read: this...
Forum: Softball Wed Jun 19, 2019, 08:27am
Replies: 12
Views: 368
Posted By Big Slick
I was referring to this post: Correcting...

I was referring to this post:


Correcting the second paragraph, effect for runner interference with a fly ball, as if she were to run into F6 catching the ball. Being hit with a deflected ball...
Forum: Softball Tue Jun 18, 2019, 12:32pm
Replies: 12
Views: 368
Posted By Big Slick
No, not what I said. In USA/NCAA softball, if...

No, not what I said. In USA/NCAA softball, if you interfere with a fly ball over fair territory, both the runner and batter are out (in USA, also foul territory).

In NFHS, interference with a fly...
Forum: Softball Tue Jun 18, 2019, 09:20am
Replies: 12
Views: 368
Posted By Big Slick
That's not the NFHS rule, that's the USA/NCAA...

That's not the NFHS rule, that's the USA/NCAA rule. On runner interference, either a ground ball or fly ball, the runner is out and BR is placed on first. Personally, I think this is a rule that...
Forum: Softball Sun Jun 16, 2019, 04:00pm
Replies: 54
Views: 1,489
Posted By Big Slick
If they called the interference on the BR...

If they called the interference on the BR interfering with F3 catching the fly ball, you can only get one out. The BR is NOT retired until the ball achieved fair status, which would be when it...
Forum: Softball Fri Jun 14, 2019, 07:31am
Replies: 54
Views: 1,489
Posted By Big Slick
Easy, who ever made the decision was wrong, as...

Easy, who ever made the decision was wrong, as who ever decided the outcome of this play (I believe the guy in blue jeans and the shoulder stripped navy jacket) was wrong.
Forum: Softball Fri Jun 14, 2019, 07:29am
Replies: 54
Views: 1,489
Posted By Big Slick
A batted ball has no fair/foul status until it...

A batted ball has no fair/foul status until it meets the definition of fair or foul. As to your NFHS 8 5 1 reference (and you should include which code you are citing), you are focused on "legally...
Forum: Softball Thu Jun 13, 2019, 02:47pm
Replies: 54
Views: 1,489
Posted By Big Slick
And read rule NFHS 2-30 "Infield fly",...

And read rule NFHS 2-30 "Infield fly", specifically . . "a fair ball" and then read what makes a ball fair NFHS 2-20.

That's why we say: "Infield fly, the batter is out, IF FAIR". The batter...
Forum: Softball Thu Jun 13, 2019, 10:26am
Replies: 54
Views: 1,489
Posted By Big Slick
Sorta, but . . . You must remember what...

Sorta, but . . .

You must remember what makes a batter out under the infield fly rule:
1. There must be less than 2 outs
2. must have runners on first and second, or bases loaded
3. The ball...
Forum: Softball Thu May 30, 2019, 11:59am
Replies: 20
Views: 536
Posted By Big Slick
It used to be, it was called "the rule of thumb."...

It used to be, it was called "the rule of thumb." I can't remember when it was deleted, but it was there when I started, circa 1995.
Forum: Softball Wed May 29, 2019, 10:31am
Replies: 20
Views: 536
Posted By Big Slick
Interesting that's the umpire manual language. ...

Interesting that's the umpire manual language. In accordance with the rule:
8 5 B 2 Effect A: The ball is DEAD.

I know, I know, the big "time" vs. "dead ball" debate.
Forum: Softball Tue May 28, 2019, 10:05am
Replies: 23
Views: 710
Posted By Big Slick
While this doesn't directly address a "swing v....

While this doesn't directly address a "swing v. no swing" situation, there is a "can fix the count" in the ruling and "window of opportunity" is the batter to complete the at-bat. (emphasis in mine):...
Forum: Softball Fri May 24, 2019, 10:43am
Replies: 7
Views: 494
Posted By Big Slick
Dude, and all pants I own are "skinny jeans" (not...

Dude, and all pants I own are "skinny jeans" (not because I bought them that way, but because that's how they fit).

Signed,
Your husky brother from PA
Forum: Softball Wed Apr 17, 2019, 11:54am
Replies: 28
Views: 696
Posted By Big Slick
Sort of, and we have been down this road a lot. ...

Sort of, and we have been down this road a lot.

There is a USA (Oct 2018 - on line) and NCAA (March 2019 - arbiter training tape) clarification of this play. I won't repeat them here because...
Forum: Softball Tue Apr 16, 2019, 07:40am
Replies: 28
Views: 696
Posted By Big Slick
Not the same call. You call interference on a...

Not the same call. You call interference on a RETIRED runner which would have the effect of the runner closest to home as an out.

The call I referred to is when a RUNNER interferes with a double...
Forum: Softball Mon Apr 15, 2019, 04:07pm
Replies: 28
Views: 696
Posted By Big Slick
Probably not, as the sliding player is most...

Probably not, as the sliding player is most likely out on a force, thus a retired runner.
Forum: Softball Mon Apr 15, 2019, 02:51pm
Replies: 28
Views: 696
Posted By Big Slick
It is the same in all codes of softball. ...

It is the same in all codes of softball.

BTW, no code of softball has a FPSR; that's baseball talk.
Forum: Softball Mon Apr 15, 2019, 12:37pm
Replies: 28
Views: 696
Posted By Big Slick
No quite correct. The "intentional double...

No quite correct.

The "intentional double play breakup" is when the RUNNER hasn't been put out yet. For example, R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st. BR hits a ball to F4, who is trying to tag R2 and then...
Forum: Softball Fri Apr 05, 2019, 04:59pm
Replies: 8
Views: 390
Posted By Big Slick
Any interference, by a batter, a batter-runner,...

Any interference, by a batter, a batter-runner, runner, retired/scored runner is a dead ball. In this case, interference by a batter is a dead ball, batter out and all runners return to the last...
Forum: Softball Wed Apr 03, 2019, 07:39am
Replies: 5
Views: 276
Posted By Big Slick
The leaving early responsibilities with a runner...

The leaving early responsibilities with a runner on third - U3 and first - U1. Why would anyone want to change this? U3 is next to the runner on third; U1 is watching first, just like a two umpire...
Showing results 1 to 25 of 500

 
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1