The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Search Forums

Showing results 1 to 25 of 403
Search took 0.02 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: blueump
Forum: Volleyball Thu Oct 20, 2016, 02:34pm
Replies: 2
Views: 302
Posted By blueump
I just got a response from our state association....

I just got a response from our state association. They say "no rule violation".
Forum: Volleyball Thu Oct 20, 2016, 12:25pm
Replies: 2
Views: 302
Posted By blueump
Roster is Correct But Then...

NFHS game. The coach turns in the roster on time and legal. Set one and set two go by with no problems. During the 3 minutes between set 2 and 3 the team runs back into the lockeroom and returns...
Forum: Softball Tue Jun 21, 2016, 08:29pm
Replies: 19
Views: 1,183
Posted By blueump
Yup! Fed ball does nor require the batter...

Yup!

Fed ball does nor require the batter to avoid being hit as long as the ball is completely within the batter's box.
Forum: Softball Sun Jun 05, 2016, 09:11pm
Replies: 17
Views: 1,553
Posted By blueump
2-man system through quarter finals. 3-man starts...

2-man system through quarter finals. 3-man starts at semi-finals.
Forum: Softball Sun Jun 05, 2016, 01:36pm
Replies: 17
Views: 1,553
Posted By blueump
Actually just the opposite. He's from "up...

Actually just the opposite. He's from "up north".
Forum: Softball Sun Jun 05, 2016, 05:31am
Replies: 17
Views: 1,553
Posted By blueump
That's exactly what I did. Despite the violent...

That's exactly what I did. Despite the violent screaming from the crowd, I told both coaches that I had no doubt that the BR would have reached 3rd anyway. I scored both runs and left the BR on 3rd....
Forum: Softball Sat Jun 04, 2016, 09:58pm
Replies: 17
Views: 1,553
Posted By blueump
How Would You Handle This as U1?

District championship game today - I was assigned to work as U1, with one of the area association "trainers" as U2.

Late in the game he's in C with runners at 2nd and 3rd. The batting team are the...
Forum: Softball Tue May 17, 2016, 07:48pm
Replies: 1
Views: 476
Posted By blueump
Catcher's Glove by Outfielder

What specific NFHS rule (if any) makes it illegal for an outfielder to use a catcher's mitt?

It seems to meet the basic measurement specifications of 1-4-2?
Forum: Softball Wed May 11, 2016, 09:08pm
Replies: 8
Views: 731
Posted By blueump
I apologize for not painting a better word...

I apologize for not painting a better word picture. The BR grounded the pitch to F1 who threw the BR out at first. The obstruction was away from the play, between 2nd and 3rd on the runner on 2nd.
...
Forum: Softball Wed May 11, 2016, 08:49pm
Replies: 8
Views: 731
Posted By blueump
So, if in the judgement of the umpire, the BR...

So, if in the judgement of the umpire, the BR would still have been out without the obstruction? Or would the BR be awarded 1st base?
Forum: Softball Wed May 11, 2016, 08:41pm
Replies: 8
Views: 731
Posted By blueump
Obstructed Runner

2 outs with a runner on second. Ground ball goes to F1 who easily throws them out. During the the play however, the runner going to 3rd, completely away from the play, is obstructed by the shortstop....
Forum: Softball Wed May 11, 2016, 11:56am
Replies: 4
Views: 903
Posted By blueump
2 Out Decision

I was assigned to worked with a partner last night who, shall I just say, was "interesting". In game 1 he was behind the plate and called strikes on two pitches that bounced. Later, in game 2, he...
Forum: Softball Tue Apr 19, 2016, 12:40pm
Replies: 31
Views: 2,046
Posted By blueump
But according to the case book the umpire is to...

But according to the case book the umpire is to "declare the ball dead immediately" - the word immediately doesn't seem to allow time for the pitcher to then go through all the steps and release the...
Forum: Softball Tue Apr 19, 2016, 06:24am
Replies: 31
Views: 2,046
Posted By blueump
Licked Fingers & Others...

Question 1 - When a pitcher licks her fingers and goes directly to the ball, 6-1-1 and 6-2-2 (and the dead ball table) tells us to immediately call an illegal pitch (before the pitch is thrown) but...
Forum: Softball Fri May 22, 2015, 11:01am
Replies: 9
Views: 749
Posted By blueump
Sorry, FED

Sorry, FED
Forum: Softball Fri May 22, 2015, 09:59am
Replies: 9
Views: 749
Posted By blueump
Short a Player

1. Can a coach come to the pre-game meeting with 9 eligible players on the line-up and then remove one of them to play the rest of the game with 8, without that player ever stepping on the field to...
Forum: Softball Tue May 19, 2015, 06:51pm
Replies: 25
Views: 2,495
Posted By blueump
This is an immediate dead ball in NFHS

This is an immediate dead ball in NFHS
Forum: Softball Tue May 19, 2015, 03:02pm
Replies: 25
Views: 2,495
Posted By blueump
Coach's View of the Look-Back Rule

Interesting interpretation of the look-back rule:

Last night I had R1 & R2 with 2 outs. The count was 2-2 when F1 throws a wild pitch. Both runners move up, and F1 comes home to cover the plate....
Forum: Baseball Sun Oct 27, 2013, 08:20am
Replies: 94
Views: 5,514
Posted By blueump
I'm not disputing the obstruction call except if...

I'm not disputing the obstruction call except if you watch, the base runner never touched the plate. Nevertheless he was called safe, which of course is the correct call until the missed base is...
Forum: Volleyball Thu Oct 11, 2012, 02:36pm
Replies: 20
Views: 1,650
Posted By blueump
I can only assume then, that the coaches also saw...

I can only assume then, that the coaches also saw at least some of the "discrete" signals? That would then basically throw you under the bus for each time you didn't call something that the R2 was...
Forum: Volleyball Sun Oct 07, 2012, 07:28am
Replies: 2
Views: 768
Posted By blueump
Double Hit?

Another odd play I saw yesterday: first contact of a ball is a pancake that comes back and bounces off the player's head. This was one attempt to play the ball so obviously it is not illegal. The...
Forum: Volleyball Sun Oct 07, 2012, 07:21am
Replies: 1
Views: 810
Posted By blueump
Back Row Attack?

The ball is sitting on the top of the tape, literally touching the net. Is that considered "completely above the height of the net" or can a ball touching the net be tipped over by a back row player?
Forum: Volleyball Fri Sep 28, 2012, 06:21pm
Replies: 5
Views: 898
Posted By blueump
First names on a lineup is fine, heck, I'm just...

First names on a lineup is fine, heck, I'm just looking for the numbers anyway! The roster probably should be more detailed, but again last names are not required. If you run into a situation where...
Forum: Volleyball Thu Sep 20, 2012, 07:13pm
Replies: 9
Views: 1,092
Posted By blueump
Exactly! Call the ball and the action, not what...

Exactly! Call the ball and the action, not what the player is TRYING to do.

Had this same exact call the other night myself. Back row setter tried to go up to save an overpass above and over the...
Forum: Volleyball Sat Sep 15, 2012, 09:34am
Replies: 2
Views: 732
Posted By blueump
Held Ball

After a point the ball rolls toward the bench where the coach picks it up. They are clearly inside the "coaching area" but instead of returning the ball to the serving side, they hold it and step...
Showing results 1 to 25 of 403

 
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1