The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Search Forums

Showing results 1 to 25 of 126
Search took 0.01 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: josephrt1
Forum: Softball Fri Aug 07, 2020, 06:29pm
Replies: 6
Views: 153
Posted By josephrt1
As you say, asking the umpire to check with a...

As you say, asking the umpire to check with a partner on a swing is not an appeal in softball and arguing balls and strikes is not allowed, however, in this case, I'd be doing neither. I'd be saying,...
Forum: Softball Tue Apr 28, 2020, 02:06pm
Replies: 23
Views: 1,186
Posted By josephrt1
I'll take a shot at this. 1. Since the rules...

I'll take a shot at this.

1. Since the rules for interference state runners return to base last touched "at time of interference", I would assume the out closest to home also is meant at the...
Forum: Softball Tue Mar 24, 2020, 01:06am
Replies: 20
Views: 500
Posted By josephrt1
Manny, The same scenario you post from NCAA was...

Manny, The same scenario you post from NCAA was on the 2016 USA/ASA Softball exam and the correct answer was that it was 1 base because it had not been possessed after the pitch. So I agree with you...
Forum: Softball Sun Jun 16, 2019, 04:17pm
Replies: 2
Views: 272
Posted By josephrt1
No tag up required. it's a drooped fly just like...

No tag up required. it's a drooped fly just like if it had been to an outfielder. Only exception is that the batter-runner is still out on the called IFF.
Forum: Softball Sun Jun 09, 2019, 09:01am
Replies: 54
Views: 2,016
Posted By josephrt1
I think I would go a different direction on this....

I think I would go a different direction on this. Batter is out when she hits an IFF. Then we had the INT. I think it is now a timing play, just like if the Batter had hit a fly ball that was caught....
Forum: Softball Sat May 25, 2019, 01:13am
Replies: 4
Views: 372
Posted By josephrt1
the announcers said it hit the knob and the hand....

the announcers said it hit the knob and the hand. Never heard the announcer say hands are part of the bat.
Forum: Softball Mon Apr 15, 2019, 01:54am
Replies: 28
Views: 874
Posted By josephrt1
depends. Was the runner from 1st already out at...

depends. Was the runner from 1st already out at the time she interfered (made an illegal slide)?
Forum: Softball Wed Feb 13, 2019, 11:13pm
Replies: 17
Views: 1,209
Posted By josephrt1
The answer that is accepted on the exam is that...

The answer that is accepted on the exam is that "this is a correct dead ball appeal". So I have the same question as youngump, "How does the ball become dead?" Knowing that some runners, especially...
Forum: Softball Sat Oct 06, 2018, 09:49pm
Replies: 2
Views: 410
Posted By josephrt1
Thanks

Thanks
Forum: Softball Sat Oct 06, 2018, 09:23am
Replies: 2
Views: 410
Posted By josephrt1
Foul or Interference?

This is a case from the 2012 ASA (USA) Case Book

B1 hits a ground ball toward 1B. The batted ball comes in contact with B1 over fair territory, while advancing to 1B. The touching is (a)...
Forum: Softball Thu Aug 23, 2018, 05:02pm
Replies: 14
Views: 646
Posted By josephrt1
Agree completely with your assessment the answer...

Agree completely with your assessment the answer needed much more clarification. The same is true about the very next play:

"With less than two outs and 1B is unoccupied. B2 swings and misses...
Forum: Baseball Sat Jul 21, 2018, 03:06pm
Replies: 9
Views: 775
Posted By josephrt1
Thanks, interesting distinction and that there is...

Thanks, interesting distinction and that there is no exception for being in contact with a base. I'll stick to the softball sites from now on!
Forum: Softball Sat Jul 21, 2018, 10:23am
Replies: 54
Views: 2,712
Posted By josephrt1
You are correct, sorry. the R/S does not say...

You are correct, sorry. the R/S does not say intentional.
Forum: Baseball Sat Jul 21, 2018, 10:19am
Replies: 9
Views: 775
Posted By josephrt1
Guys, I don't do baseball and actually never read...

Guys, I don't do baseball and actually never read this forum but stumbled across this. The answer to this post didn't seem right to me and i looked in the 2015 MLB rule book. On page 63, rule 6.01 it...
Forum: Softball Fri Jul 20, 2018, 03:29pm
Replies: 54
Views: 2,712
Posted By josephrt1
No argument but there is clarification in the...

No argument but there is clarification in the rule supplement that includes the word intentionally.
Forum: Softball Fri Jul 20, 2018, 02:54pm
Replies: 54
Views: 2,712
Posted By josephrt1
comment withdrawn: I misquoted the R/S.

comment withdrawn: I misquoted the R/S.
Forum: Softball Wed Jul 11, 2018, 09:59am
Replies: 47
Views: 2,265
Posted By josephrt1
The wording is quoted from the 2018 manual as you...

The wording is quoted from the 2018 manual as you stated. I underlined one important phrase. "as long as all playing action has ceased". In the play described, had all action ceased? No one was...
Forum: Softball Tue Jul 10, 2018, 06:40pm
Replies: 47
Views: 2,265
Posted By josephrt1
I don't do slow pitch but this situation seems to...

I don't do slow pitch but this situation seems to apply to fast pitch as well. My question is why was time called at all. I think the ball should have been kept live in this situation. if runner does...
Forum: Softball Mon Jun 18, 2018, 10:45pm
Replies: 13
Views: 728
Posted By josephrt1
Not sure what you are commenting on. I agreed...

Not sure what you are commenting on. I agreed with MTD that in the play he described it would be obstruction. [also there was no discussion of "about to get it". Only confirming that in his play...
Forum: Softball Mon Jun 18, 2018, 07:03pm
Replies: 13
Views: 728
Posted By josephrt1
The way I read your situation is different than...

The way I read your situation is different than the original post. In the OP there is the appearance of a play about to occur at the plate. In that case there are rules and rule supplements covering...
Forum: Softball Mon Jun 18, 2018, 01:47pm
Replies: 13
Views: 728
Posted By josephrt1
Agreed. It would be nice to see 8.2.F add a...

Agreed. It would be nice to see 8.2.F add a statement like this: "7. with a play at home plate"
Forum: Softball Sun Jun 17, 2018, 09:01pm
Replies: 13
Views: 728
Posted By josephrt1
OK, understood. But what do you do if you don't...

OK, understood. But what do you do if you don't think the batter-runner got in the way in "an attempt to prevent an out at the plate"?

_________________________________________________________
...
Forum: Softball Sun Jun 17, 2018, 12:44pm
Replies: 13
Views: 728
Posted By josephrt1
8.2.G is the rule for a batter runner but it...

8.2.G is the rule for a batter runner but it includes the wording "in an attempt ot prevent an out at home plate"

What if it was not an "attempt to prevent" but rather just a mistake by a batter...
Forum: Softball Fri Jun 08, 2018, 02:04am
Replies: 24
Views: 1,749
Posted By josephrt1
Just for the record you are quoting from the 2005...

Just for the record you are quoting from the 2005 book which is not consistent with the recent year's books.

Irish cited rule 7.4.H. You (youngump) are quoting rule 7.4.H from 2005 which is not...
Forum: Softball Mon Jun 04, 2018, 12:06pm
Replies: 24
Views: 1,749
Posted By josephrt1
Not sure about your reference of 8.1.2.b. Doesn't...

Not sure about your reference of 8.1.2.b. Doesn't seem to be an ASA rule designation.

Check out USA/ASA Rule 7.6.A

Rule 7, SECTION 6 THE BATTER IS OUT
A. When the third strike is:
1. Swung...
Showing results 1 to 25 of 126

 
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1