The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Search Forums

Showing results 1 to 25 of 500
Search took 0.05 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: RKBUmp
Forum: Softball Mon Sep 24, 2018, 09:27pm
Replies: 20
Views: 741
Posted By RKBUmp
As I said on a different forum, leave it to NCAA...

As I said on a different forum, leave it to NCAA to take a very simple statement of the pitcher must take or simulate taking a signal after engaging the pitching plate and turn it into a convoluted 3...
Forum: Softball Mon Sep 24, 2018, 09:24pm
Replies: 20
Views: 741
Posted By RKBUmp
That is not what you said in your first post. ...

That is not what you said in your first post.

The game moves quicker, as once the pitcher takes the sign she goes into her motion. Not, step on the plate, pause and then go into her motion.

The...
Forum: Softball Mon Sep 24, 2018, 11:59am
Replies: 20
Views: 741
Posted By RKBUmp
The wording of the new NCAA rule still requires...

The wording of the new NCAA rule still requires the pitcher to take another signal after they have engaged the pitching plate if they took one before engaging. So yes, the pitcher must still pause...
Forum: Softball Tue Sep 11, 2018, 06:03am
Replies: 24
Views: 589
Posted By RKBUmp
Because the rules say you do not give input on...

Because the rules say you do not give input on another officials call unless specifically asked by the calling official. He had the ability to go ask his partners himself if he was missing something...
Forum: Softball Thu Aug 23, 2018, 04:14pm
Replies: 14
Views: 416
Posted By RKBUmp
The batter is protected as long as they remain...

The batter is protected as long as they remain stationary in the batters box. They start moving around in the box or step out and get in the way it's interference.
Forum: Softball Thu Aug 23, 2018, 04:13pm
Replies: 14
Views: 416
Posted By RKBUmp
Yes, the clarification needs much further...

Yes, the clarification needs much further clarification because it doesn't say anything.
Forum: Softball Thu Aug 23, 2018, 12:57pm
Replies: 14
Views: 416
Posted By RKBUmp
It does no good to issue a rule clarification...

It does no good to issue a rule clarification that pretty much simply repeats exactly what the rule book says. This was just argued on a Facebook forum after a girl in the LL world series stepped...
Forum: Softball Sat Jul 28, 2018, 09:24pm
Replies: 21
Views: 579
Posted By RKBUmp
If my ball 4 call resulted in the runner pulling...

If my ball 4 call resulted in the runner pulling up and getting tagged out, yes I would put them back at first.
Forum: Softball Sat Jul 28, 2018, 02:09pm
Replies: 21
Views: 579
Posted By RKBUmp
Didn't I just answer that question? If the...

Didn't I just answer that question? If the umpire called ball 4 and it resulted in the catcher not throwing down or the runner simply advancing to 2nd on the apparent walk, fix it.
Forum: Softball Sat Jul 28, 2018, 01:26pm
Replies: 21
Views: 579
Posted By RKBUmp
If the delay of call or reversal of an umpires...

If the delay of call or reversal of an umpires call allowed the runner to advance or affected the play, then fix it.
Forum: Softball Sat Jul 28, 2018, 10:04am
Replies: 21
Views: 579
Posted By RKBUmp
If the only reason the runner advanced was...

If the only reason the runner advanced was because of the ball 4 that was reversed on the check swing appeal, then yes, you return the runner. Its called umpire jeopardy.
Forum: Softball Mon Jul 23, 2018, 04:45pm
Replies: 54
Views: 1,170
Posted By RKBUmp
Go ahead and call it interference if you want. ...

Go ahead and call it interference if you want. You have been told repeatedly it is not Interference for simply running to a base and being hit by a throw. Every person who has responded has told...
Forum: Softball Fri Jul 20, 2018, 08:40pm
Replies: 54
Views: 1,170
Posted By RKBUmp
Manny, I saw that play but wasn't sure it was the...

Manny, I saw that play but wasn't sure it was the one he was talking about. That play doesn't say being hit by a throw is interference, it says if the umpire judges the runner committed...
Forum: Softball Fri Jul 20, 2018, 05:26pm
Replies: 54
Views: 1,170
Posted By RKBUmp
Which case play or clarification are you talking...

Which case play or clarification are you talking about?
Forum: Softball Fri Jul 20, 2018, 05:08pm
Replies: 54
Views: 1,170
Posted By RKBUmp
You have been given the answer repeatedly. ...

You have been given the answer repeatedly. Unless the runner commits some act to interfere with the thrown ball such as slapping at it, purposely changing course to be hit by it etc, being hit by...
Forum: Softball Fri Jul 20, 2018, 04:55pm
Replies: 54
Views: 1,170
Posted By RKBUmp
No, it is not semantics it is the rule. What you...

No, it is not semantics it is the rule. What you stated about a fielder being in the path of the runner being obstruction is not correct. Until such time as the runner is actually impeded it is...
Forum: Softball Fri Jul 20, 2018, 04:10pm
Replies: 54
Views: 1,170
Posted By RKBUmp
No, a fielder just standing in a runners path is...

No, a fielder just standing in a runners path is not automatically obstruction. There are 2 factors that must be met to have obstruction, 1, a fielder not in possession of the ball and not in the...
Forum: Softball Fri Jul 20, 2018, 02:53pm
Replies: 54
Views: 1,170
Posted By RKBUmp
Running the bases is not an act of interference. ...

Running the bases is not an act of interference. Other than a batter runner between home and first, there is no penalty for a runner hit by a thrown ball unless they commit some act of interference.
Forum: Softball Tue Jul 10, 2018, 06:47am
Replies: 16
Views: 529
Posted By RKBUmp
Didn't appear to make that much of a difference...

Didn't appear to make that much of a difference in NCAA this year. Yes, there were more called but still plenty of illegal pitchers being ignored.

The problem now is, so many umpires have just...
Forum: Softball Sat Jul 07, 2018, 06:05pm
Replies: 10
Views: 448
Posted By RKBUmp
Not when the lead runner is out on appeal for.the...

Not when the lead runner is out on appeal for.the 3rd out.
Forum: Softball Fri Jul 06, 2018, 05:49pm
Replies: 10
Views: 448
Posted By RKBUmp
Runner is still required to touch all bases even...

Runner is still required to touch all bases even if obstructed. You have a valid appeal and an out.

Even awarded bases are required to be legally run and touched.
Forum: Softball Sun Jul 01, 2018, 03:10pm
Replies: 11
Views: 379
Posted By RKBUmp
Do what you are asked to do when working for...

Do what you are asked to do when working for those assignors. Ive always felt the pitch needs to be called when it hits the catchers glove, delaying the call does put both the batter and the defense...
Forum: Softball Mon Jun 25, 2018, 02:50pm
Replies: 4
Views: 276
Posted By RKBUmp
Going to depend on rule set, nfhs a deflected...

Going to depend on rule set, nfhs a deflected ball by pitcher is still considered an initial play, in USA once the ball is deflected the runner must do something intentional to be called for...
Forum: Softball Fri Jun 22, 2018, 05:17am
Replies: 11
Views: 411
Posted By RKBUmp
On a batted ball you cannot interfere with a...

On a batted ball you cannot interfere with a defender who is not the player fielding the ball. And a defender who is not in the act of fielding a batted ball cannot hinder the progress of a runner,...
Forum: Softball Sun Jun 17, 2018, 01:50pm
Replies: 13
Views: 502
Posted By RKBUmp
Once you have a batter/runner, anything under...

Once you have a batter/runner, anything under rule 7 no longer applies.
Showing results 1 to 25 of 500

 
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1